Day 8 ~ Tokyo Disneyland could have been better If Only ......


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
May 22nd 2007
Published: May 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tokyo Disneyland ~ Leave your dreams at home


A, J, S and me reached Tokyo Disneyland on the afternoon of 13 April 2007. Located on the eastern seaboard of Tokyo, the 5 year old Theme Park would be a delight to visit if ONLY :-

1) I did not have to suffer a terrible headache in the afternoon. Coming to Day 8 of our Central Japan trip. I could feel my body slowly draining away. Anyway, luckily that A had some panadols around. If not, it would be a really terrible day for me.

2) The 3.30pm traditional Afternoon Parade showcasing the best of Disney was on.

3) The nightly fireworks was on.

Both events were cancelled due to “inclement wind conditions”. I was lamenting that since the resort was located next to Tokyo Bay, it was bound to suffer from regular strong winds.

4) There was a fastpass system for the Mickey Mouse House. Throughout the day, the queues and waiting time for this attraction was forever. (A fastpass system basically allowed a visitor to visit the attraction at a stipulated time frame later in the day, doing away with the long waiting time.)

5) The theme for this April was “Lilo and Stitch”. I had prefer Mickey & Company anytime.

Anyway, friends who had visited the Tokyo theme park had related how superior this was compared to its Hong Kong cousin.

I beg to differ.

Probably, I had too high an expectation after hearing so many good reviews of the Disneyland. Or probably it wasn’t my first visit to a Disneyland that this visit didn’t spring in too much surprises. (some disappointments though!) Or Probably, I was getting older by the day. I couldn’t pin point the actual reasons. It was just not as enjoyable that I had hoped.

Anyway, I must agree that the Tokyo Park was much bigger in scale, sprawling over 7 Theme Parks with more attractions to occupy an average visitor. However, its sheer size also meant that conquering the park within a day was a challenge.

Rating: 6/10. (7/10 if the parades and fireworks were not cancelled)

Verdict: If you are in Tokyo for a short period of time, it might be best to give the park a miss and visit other noteworthy attractions for a truly Japanese experience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



25th June 2007

Lovely pics
I have heared about a Tokyo Disneyland! I loved your photos! Greetings

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb