In the beginning god created...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
November 5th 2006
Published: November 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Tokyo


Hi folks,
I was pretty excited about Japan. Foreign language, foreign culure and of course the first stop on my trip. On the plane to Tokyo I got to know a guy from France who works in London. For both of us, its the first time in Japan.
But I have to tell you, that the Japanese are very tourist friendly. Right from the start-at the airport we were wondering which bus track to take and women just walked towards us and asked if she could help... great :-)

On the first day I just manged to see the EDO Museum before I felt the jetlag. The EDO Museum gives a newcomer like me a rough overview over the Japanese history. Unfortunately only 20% of the signs are in English.

Yesterday I made friend with a Japanese staying in this hostel. He also just visited Tokyo - so we both enjoyed a sightseeing tour through Tokyo. Although he didnt speak much English we had a lot of fun. Its really convenient to have a native Japanese speaker at your side. We had some delicious Sushi close to the worlds biggest fish market. I have never seen such a big fish market. And half of the Seafood was still alive... LOL. The shrimps and crabs are crawling.

Afterwards we enjoyed an amazing view over the city from the Top of the Roppongi Hills tower.

Today I went to the one of the most famous temples and shrines in Asakusa. This area is definte Tourist theme - so I stopped by at the tourist information and they invited me to take a free guided tour. I thought why not... When it started we were 2 Tourists, a man from NewCastle and me. And 2 Tourist Guides...It was very cool to have a free private tour in a pricy city.

When I first saw the first Japanese in the Metro I thought they are only sleeping or using their mobile phone. Today I figured its a good thing to shut your eyes from time to time. In this City there is such a flood of impressions and fliquering lights, that you can easily get crazy if you dont shutdown.

In the next days I plan to go to Kyoto and Osaka. So the next I might write about that.
Cu Stefan


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Kazuyuki HigashiKazuyuki Higashi
Kazuyuki Higashi

My first contact...
Sushi circle Sushi circle
Sushi circle

150 Yen a plate


Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 24; qc: 99; dbt: 0.0834s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb