LONG DAY.


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Ueno
October 20th 2009
Published: October 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

As most of you know, I am not a morning person. When I say mornings I mean anything from before 12pm.....nevermind 5am! This is the time I got up today! The reason I was up at this god-awful-time in the morning is because of Tsukishima fish market! It is world famous and is apparently most buzzing before dawn, which turned out to be true! Aside from the vile smell, it is pretty interesting. I saw some of the biggest fish I've ever seen in my life, being chopped up.. lovely! (some were still alive). A couple of my friends thought it was a must to eat some sushi after watching these large fish being quartered, however the thought of it churned my stomach. I can handle sushi when it's with rice and other flavouring, but they literally ate a plate just full of raw fish.. NO THANK YOU! vomit x 10.

After our fishy trip we headed on to a town called Ueno! It has a gorgeous humungus park with a few shrines and a zoo in it. There is also a board there that people write there 'wishes' on. It is hung with hundreds of wooden planks each with individual wishes written on them. Naturally we wrote one too. It was very cliche but kind of cute. We had delicious pizza and then went into the zoo. This is by far one of the best zoo's I have ever been.. it was MASSIVE! Would not expect it in the middle of a town in Tokyo. It was full of the most bizarre creatures and there were some adorable Japanese kids from all different schools on a day trip. I hate children, but holy crap these ones were meltyourheart adorable.. All of them about 3 or 4 years old and they all had little hats on and the most cutest uniforms! It's depressing to know that these kids uniforms are more stylish than my own damn clothes.. even from a young age they're being dressed well! One girl even had a Jenny Humphrey (gossip girl) style outfit with a high waisted pleated skirt, white shirt and some knee high socks.. no wonder 'Japanese school girls' has a whole new meaning in their later teen years.

In the evening, I went on a date with that guy from Northampton that I met in Roppongi. The date was.. interesting. I was already setting myself up for disaster seeing as I had got up at 5am and was ridiciulously tired and could hardly function, so the concept of having to be sociable and somewhat flirty was pretty foul at this time of night. Not only that but because of my tiredness I stupidly got on the longest route via subway to get to where he lives which is a town called Ebisu. Sooooooo I was late! Very late in fact.. 20/25 minutes late! I was meant to be meeting him at the Station entrance at 7 and I was almost certain he would not be there when I arrived.. he wasn't. He had given me his number though so I rang on a payphone and he said he was at the entrance but at the different station! wwwwwwwtf. I was impressed that he hadn't left but he said he 'gave me the benefit of the doubt because he understood I was new in Tokyo'.. sweet.

We went for a delicious pizza (my second one in the day!) and had some buffalo chicken wings on the side with a few beers. I was still mildly awake at this point so it was all good, but then after we went to a wine bar and wine has the tendancy to make me even more tired and knock me out. Not only was the wine making me sleepy but so was his voice.. it's not that he wasn't interesting..hmm Okay yeah it was, he wasn't that interesting. I mean he had his funny moments but he just seemed to drone on a lot. As he lived in Tokyo he spent quite a lot of time trying to explain the Japanese language to me and even spent a full half hour showing me the symbols and explaining how each one works. I guess in normal circumstances when I hadn't had 3 hours sleep the night before, this would have interested me.. but at this point my eyelids were drooping. Not only that, but he must meet a lot of travellers coming and going all the time, and he wasn't afraid to tell me about all his other sex conquests which is a SLIGHTTT turn off. He even at one point offered we went into one of the Love Hotels I told you about earlier.. where you can pay for an hour or 2 to 'rest'.. ha! He said that some of them are actually really cool and have kareoke in them.. yeah because that's what people want to do in love hotels.. sing themselves some kareoke! WOOO. I'm sureeeeee!

At this point in time it was about 11.30 and I was more than ready to go home and collapse into bed. He offered me to stay at his (shocker), but literally the only thing exciting me was the thought of a lovely long sleep with a delicious lie in. As the subways stop running about 11.30/12pm it was either I go home now or have to stay out all night with him. The decision was not hard for me, I said my goodbyes..! The journey home was a lot less stressful than the journey getting there and I had a lovely sleep last night 😊

That's another thing about Tokyo. You know when you walk through the streets of England alone or get the tube in London and you feel like anyone could stab you at any second.. well Tokyo is the total opposite! I have never felt so safe in a city in all my life. I have only been here 4 days and already I feel totally at ease travelling about on the subway by myself and knowing it's absolutely fine. People actually have RESPECT here! For the place and for other people. The atmosphere is totally different and so classy. Anyway enough typing now..

CHOW. x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb