Tokyo Orientation


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Shinjuku
August 5th 2009
Published: August 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After two fully-scheduled days of orientation in Tokyo, all JETs part at Keio Plaza Hotel in Shinjuku and head to their designated prefectures. Our work schedule is quite hectic (in a positive way! Of course!!^^) and it's now 10:15pm in Japan. Despite that I'll have an important day tomorrow to meet my school teachers, principal and vice-principal, I would like to take a few minutes to reflect on the events that happened and people that I met during the orientation.

We received warm welcome upon arrival at Narita International Airport. I didn't feel too nostalgic or over-excited when left Vancouver. I knew that I was in a peaceful state of mind, so satisfied and blessed to be in where I am right now.

The orientation was absolutely well-organized, that it covered a range of topics from Education system in Japan to saving money to coping cultural fatigue ^^. I was strongly influenced by the enthusiasm projected by the speakers, and knowing that a fulfilling job is not so much about what we do, instead what we can put into whatever that we are doing.

For the past few days our Vancouver JETs have got so close together as a group that it was sad and heartbreaking to say goodbye! ^^ Tokyo is absolutely massive and we were keen to find short breaks between seminars to explore the metropolis a bit. Most of us attended the Canadian Embassy welcome party. It's nice to know that we'll have their supports throughout our teaching and cultural exchange experiences. During the two days in Tokyo I've met amazing and yet still so humble people who are striving to make a positive impact on our community and at the same time enjoy every moment.

Thanks to all Vancouver JETs and special thanks to my two adorable roommates Adina and Beryl...We had such a great time together sharing a room, a internet cord, good chats when doing makeups, and most importantly laughters!!! We rolled on the floor laughed at the silliest thing ever....love you guys lots. And thanks to Iker for "The Book of Tea", a truely inspirational and wise person.

Gotta sign off and prepare for tomorrow's meeting with my school teachers and predecessor. Enjoy.

Sorry that I didn't have much time to explore the city and most of the photos capture my goofy moments. ^.P I'll try to be more artistic next time. ^^ Peace.

Love, Fang




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

See what I mean?See what I mean?
See what I mean?

Two adorable and goofy women...hahah


6th August 2009

My dear daughter~ so happy to know that everything is going well for you. :) Love all your photos! Cheers.
9th August 2009

I will move in to increase our friendship! Haha, it is good that you didn;t write your blog in Janpanses, yet!

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0786s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb