Day 172: My heart goes Hip Hop Hip Hop


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Shinjuku
September 17th 2008
Published: September 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am completely and whole heartedly in love with my dance studio which is why I'm having a bit of a hard time letting go of it. I've been saying goodbye all week in preparation for my last ever lesson tonight and bouncing and dancing my little heart out trying to master the hand slapping, foot stomping and crazy mad butterfly arms that will forever more remind me of Tokyo.

It's hard to explain how much going to dancing has changed my life in Japan - I've learnt half of my Japanese from there, it's taken up the majority of my evenings and commandered my social life with almost every weekend now involving a night out with the Hip Hop girls in Shibuya busting out the moves from that weeks lessons. I've made so many friends through going to dancing, and have so many great memories;

The first few baffling lessons with Niske laughing by my side, Micchans classes becoming a weekly entertainment event with him trying to speak to me in English and me teasing him back in Japanese, the weekly ritual of Engi rubbing up against my legs in dance class to "feel the spiky side" , Maki beaming proudly at me week after week with her OK symbol, Keigo standing in front of me lifting his shirt up for a better view when he does the butt warm up, the sexy girls who speak no english but flirt with me mercilessly week after week, Goto always checking I can understand what he's saying and stutting around in his pink and purple fluro shirts, Ryosuke sitting on my back during stretching time encouraging me to reelaaaxsh and and the endless encouragement and practice with my hip hop posse - Jennifer, Marie, Engi, Yuki and Lucy.

Most of all Im going to miss dancing with my dearest darling Lucy; giggling at keigos silly butterfly arms, private jokes with Micchan, conspiring together to get the dance teachers to fall in love with us, lying flat on our backs during sit up time, making fun of the guy who always sleeps on the floor between classes, practicing the Monday clapping thing, sitting at the back of the class complaining that we're too old and the recurring joke of steadily bouncing through the difficult parts while the rest of the class churns out the good moves with bad ass attitude... dancing would have been nowhere near as fun with out my beautiful korean partner in crime.

Advertisement



22nd September 2008

Goto's event was great. i should take his lesson! Thank you for bringing me. Dance is wonderful but you're the only person that makes me laugh and have confidence in front of kgo.... youre right we are much more beautiful than the girls you know who i am telling about... i already miss you~

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb