Day Eighty Eight: Okinamiyaki and a supple pair of buttocks


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Shinjuku
June 22nd 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yay! I saw Haruka today!

Haruka's one of my japanese friends from Sydney who's back in Tokyo for a few months. We met up a few weeks ago for okinamiyaki in Shinjuku, got lost in the rain for twenty minutes looking for the restaurant and ended up in an old style japanese yakitori (skewer/kebob type things) bar I'd found previously but had been to scared to go into by myself. The yakitori bar only had ten chairs, most of which were occupied with old japanese man getting pissed on saki in the middle of the day on a Monday. It was great, but we decided this time we'd go for something a little bit more respectable.
So once again we met in the rain. Not drizzle, but pouring, bucketing weather. Navigating our way through the puddles and transvestites we managed to find the restaurant and slid out of our shoes and into the warm comfort of a traditional japanese okinamiyaki restaurant. I'd also bought Kess and Jane along to make me look popular, sadly the popularity grabbing backfired and they just ended up show me up with their impressive japanese skills. (The show offs are all fluent and whatnot from 3 months in language school... plus they also speak german, it's so embarassing only knowing one language, I have to hide my face in shame)
Anyway, moving on to dinner...mmm...Okinamiyaki...I can't spell it and can hardly say it but it's one of my favourite foods, not only in Japan but also, the world.
The english translation is Japanese style pancake, personally though, I think it's more of an omlette. To be honest it doesn't matter what what you call it or how you would describe it because it's so damn delicious it's gone long before you can really think about it.
When you go to an Okinamiyaki restaurant you sit around a table with a barbeque benchtop. You can order the Okinamiyaki to come already made or just order the ingredients to make your own on the the barbeque. Of course it's more fun to make your own (especially when you're pissed) so we spent our evening necking beers, giggling, devouring our wonky okinamiyaki (wonkinamiyaki?) and calling over the cute waiter so Jane could check out his butt. It was a really great butt. Firm yet bouncy. I think the word I'm looking for is supple. Yeah, thats it, it was definately a supple butt. Almost as delicious as my Okinamiyaki. Sugooooooooooy Oishi ne?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb