Konichiwa Wilson San!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Shinjuku
June 15th 2007
Published: June 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm in Japan! :D

I've been here for about 3 days now, staying in Tokyo...I think it's the most amazing place I've ever been to. I thought Japan would be a lot like China...but it really isn't. It's just so advanced, culturally, socially, technologically, you could even say it was westernplus. Obviously there are some things that we have in europe/america that are of a better quality...but mostly they pretty much got us beat :P. Especially for someone like me, it's got everything I like...but escalated to a much cooler level. Like...internet cafes for example. Rather than just having internet cafes...they have Manga Cafes (such as the one I'm in now). You have your own cubicle with a leather easychair, a pc, a tv with a playstation, a menu for ordering meals or snacks, unlimited free drinks, a libary of around 50,000 manga books, smoking and non smoking sections of cubicles...why dont we have this stuff back home! Technology...well, it's just 5 years ahead of everything we have in england. Socially, everyone is really polite, they all want to help you if you're lost, crime is really low, I feel safe anywhere I go. Culturally, amazing history, architecture, art, religion...it's all interesting and multi-layered. I wish I had more than two weeks here because it's just such an amazing place, if I could spend a year living anywhere, it would be in Tokyo. Obviously, there are downsides, like I can't speak the language, its quite expensive and everywhere seems to be completely devoted to keeping exactly to the clock (like in our hostel, curfew - 11m, you have to leave the hostel before 10pm, you can't come back before 3pm...it's rather odd.

Anyhoo, I spent the last few days with Beck and Alice, who I met up with at our hostel, we spent two nights at the hostel, last night we slept in a capsule hotel!! It was supremely weird and pretty cool. Today Beck and Alice left Tokyo to go and see Becks uncle and I'm meeting up with them again in Kyoto on the 17th. Unfortunatly because they were leaving today it was too difficult for them to come to the studio ghibli museum with me, the museum was FANTASTIC. The film (which was a short film about Mei and the Kittenbus!) was SO great and I wish I could have got it on DVD but you can only see these films in the Museum cinema, they're not available to be seen anywhere else! Instead I bought for myself a totoro umbrella and some other wee little things.

Right, I must be off now, my times running over and I've gotta get back in time for curfew (so annoying) so I'll write again in a few days!

Advertisement



15th June 2007

I am supremely jealous!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb