Toilet water, tempura & turmoil (day one)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Shibuya
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

lunchlunchlunch

mmm runchi! oishii desu neeeeee! (tokyo no eki de sushi o kaimashita)
well, i've arrived! got to the hotel a little after 8.30pm...and after a brief altercation with the bidet and my face (yes i just had to look over the bowl and press the shiny button...) i settled in nicely to my hotel...and by settled in i mean i my stuff was strewn all over the floor, bed, table... after which i had a nice hot ofuro. thats bath, i just love the japanese word for it way better...

i decided, despite overly optimistic planning while on the plane, that i was way too tired/overwhelmed/dishevelled to venture out into the bustling street below (great view from my window) so i ordered room service - tempura udon. my WORD it was delicious. i was starving while waiting for it so ate some 'pocket tin' (it really is a tin that could fit in your pocket) crackers from the mini bar and drank what looked like delicious green iced tea but was actually bitter cold medicine water in disguise!!! only myself to blame, the label was all in kanji which i'm not too flash at. it probably said 'bitter cold medicine water' and i just didn't know. so i added some equal from
room with a viewroom with a viewroom with a view

view of shibuya... totemo sugoi ne... kirei to omou
my purse, which made it worse, and drank it anyway coz i have to pay for it.

now a bit of mild panic set in last night when i realised (i knew everything went waaay too smoothly getting here) that in my haste to catch the earlier bus to my hotel i completely forgot to cash in my railpass at the airport. so now ive got a useless voucher in my posession and am due to travel on bullet train tomorrow morning. however the voucher listed a few other spots i can exchange it, so it's off to tokyo station today. my hotel is right above the shibuya station so it shouldnt be too hard... but as i have no railpass yet i will have to buy a ticket... which will be a challenge to figure out but if all alse fails i'll just sit on the ground and scream 'neko ga daaaaiii sukkkiii desuuu yooooo' at the top of my voice, which means 'i really really love cats' and that should get someones attention and alert them that i need a little help.

so now it's time to go seek out some breakfast and figure out the train stations and get this voucher exchanged before tomorrow's kyoto trip... ja mata!!

ps - i didnt know what to do with my dirty dishes from RS this morning so i left them outside my door. i hope that's not rude... i wrote oishikatta (that was delicious) on the napkin to soften things if it is.



Advertisement



2nd September 2008

Oishikatta
Haha, you are so funny. And what a delicious start to your travel blog.
2nd September 2008

meow
hahahha i cant believe you put equal in your drink that is soooo funny!!
2nd September 2008

i really really love cats- i 'LOL'd so loud in my work break room... good times hahaha
3rd September 2008

hahaha
I love it! i did the exact same thing with the toilet too! I only have 2 more experiments with that one... Sanae ran me through the powerful deoderiser last night verbally so thats the next one on my list of things to do involving my butt in Japan (it@s a bigger list than you can imagine)
5th September 2008

hahaha
very funny blog!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb