Toronto to Tokyo


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Shibuya
March 6th 2008
Published: March 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

And so it begins...I will attempt to entertain you all with my traveling stories based on actual events, fictional, and some that blend the two and I'll let you decide which is which....those that have goggled and found me then all entries are definitely 100% fictional 😉

So 5 days have completely disappeared since my last day on the job trying to get all items possible for this trip and following the advice of so many people (thanks to you all) on potential do's and dont's...and now I sit in the Air Canada lounge staring down at my 65L backpack (including a nifty day pack) and I can't help but have a goofy smile on my face...never thought I'd be a backpacker!

Let's start with the plan...or really lack of a plan (one of the of things that never really got a chance to fully work out). It begins with my first stop to Tokyo, Japan. Only there for 24 hours and have no real idea where I'm going other than the hotel name where I'm only staying. Then from Tokyo to Bangkok I have a room booked on the famous Khao San Road to get my bearings and adjust to whatever I'm about to encounter. I'm guessing I'll spend 3-4 weeks in Thailand beach bumming in Kao Tao where I'll get my PADI diving certication before Graeme meets me for the full moon party in Kao Phangan, then more beaches in Kao Phi Phi, and Krabi, then up to northern Thailand in Chiang Mai where I plan to go into a Mauy Thai kickboxing camp, head to the monestaries for meditation, and trek through the jungle. Then I figure I'll head off to Cambodia, Vietnam, Lao and China exact destinations still to be decided. 😊

Looking at the clock 2:39pm...my flight was supposed to take off at 2:25pm and delayed till 4pm...its the first time I could have kissed the Air Canada agent when she told me it was delayed since I finally could have time to setup this blog. Now, I'm going to have to leave you to go grab a cappuccino and attempt for the 3rd time to get an upgrade on this flight. PS, for those that use points to fly you can't upgrade (Sanjay I'm still trying the offer them double certificates but it ain't working)...looks like I'm going to have to start sweet talking 😉

So sit back, relax in the comfort of your home and I welcome you to the inner workings of my mind and pitfalls which I know are about to befall me...let's begin...


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb