Work hard, play hard.


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Shibuya
July 8th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Don't you dare...Don't you dare...Don't you dare...

Or they'll smork you right back.
That's how I'd describe the people of Tokyo so far. I'm writing this at about quarter after eight in the morning Japan time. I'm already dressed and have had a shower. Why is this, you ask?

Subway closes at midnight. Cabs are ridiculously expensive. But that doesn't stop anyone in this town from doing their thing. I went out for a "night on the town", as it were, with some friendly people I've met here at the hostel. Two Britts, two Americans, and myself. Quite a balanced group.

The subway and trains start running again shortly after 5:00. Consequently, every single bar and club closes at that time. So, if you're going to party, it had better be an all-nighter. There's no meeting it halfway unless you want to walk or take a cab across the world's largest metropolis.

At first we had a bit of difficulty finding the famous club we wanted to go to. Luckily, it was in my little Lonely Planet guide, with a map, and with the help of small group of locals, we managed to find it. They walked with us for a little bit, introduced themselves and the like. Funniest thing
Delicious!Delicious!Delicious!

The aftermath of a Teriyaki burger and flavoured fries...
I've heard anyone say so far:
:????????????
Erm?
You speak Japanese?"
A little bit...
Ohhhhh.... SUSHI! TEMPURA! NINJA! Hahahahah!

I suppose there's a snapshot of what they get from half-witted tourists on a regular basis... *sigh*.

I'm pretty sure that beats the previous night's conversation with Ivan, though:

So how long have you been here?
Two yearss (Russian accent)
So do you like, live here?
Egh, *sort-of*...

RE: PM about underage drinking

Here's an excerpt from a random Google search:

"Alcohol is as much a part of Japanese society as sumo and sushi. Most adults of both genders (and quite a lot of teenagers) socially drink with family, friends and co-workers. Beer and other alcoholic drinks are sold out of vending machines in Japan, so it is also much more accessible than other countries and underage drinking is not looked upon as negatively as in the west either. The restriction on drinking is also not as strict as other places, as drinking in public, in trains and in parks is not prohibited. After hours drinking with colleagues and superiors is part of the job and the reason you see so many drunk businessman stumbling home from bars and restaurants late at night. Sometimes this public inebriation can get a little out of hand, but most people seem to lend a blind eye and carry about their business."

That's right. 'Twas a sight to see. Five random white people, all with different accents, drinking beer together in a subway car, going across the city to a nightclub. We got many a discomforted look. (And don't worry Mom, I hold my booze the best out of all of them. A true Canadian, I suppose.)

Ugh, I'm STARVING. Like I always am when I can't and/or don't sleep. I tried to hit up a "Lotteria" (Kind of like McDonald's but tastier) for a Terriyaki burger. Those are absolutely delicious. I walked around for a while looking for one, though I had no luck.

Later today I'm going down to Harajuku once again, because apparently Sunday is the day to see it. I was there yesterday and there were only a few cos-players. I managed to work up the courage to ask to take a photo with them. The fact that I'm in said photo makes it uglier.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

There was a band...There was a band...
There was a band...

And they were quite talented.
He Can't Riiive...He Can't Riiive...
He Can't Riiive...

Wis or wissout you! This man was singing and dancing to U2 on his boombox. I do not understand why...
HeeheeHeehee
Heehee

They're pwetty.


9th July 2007

Been there, done that!
Erik - it appears that few things change in 25 years! i was in Japan in 1984 - it was ridiculously expensive then and difficult to manouver within Japanese society. it appeared to me then that tourists (and foreign workers) are barely tolerated as necessary evil of Japan's modern global economic domination! that having been said, when i was there every high school girl wanted a picture of me or taken by me... i must be in a thousand 1984 photo albums across Japan! looking forward to your next installment.
9th July 2007

Hardly ugly
Hey...since you are supposed to take after my side of the family...I take offence at the "making the photo uglier" comment...hardly....anyway..excellent to hear from you and that despite the alcohol you have not been robbed by Russian mafioso and despite your hunger..you are still alive and healthy...Nils got back from salmon fishing with 4 huge salmon and had a fabulous time...it has been very hot here and fun with the Stampede and all..went to the rodeo yesterday...keep on writing and have fun but don't drink too much... love you very much and always, Mom xxoxoxoxoxox

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0759s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb