July 7 and 8


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Setagaya
July 18th 2008
Published: July 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a few days in transit between Jordan and Japan, I arrived at Narita Monday afternoon. Stupidly I forgot about all the info/directions about getting to Turka's house in Tokyo, I got into a taxi from the airport (which I thought was what I had to do) anyway, $300 later I turned up at "Hotel Turka" (Shona's Uncle Anthony who lives in Tokyo, is called Turka) and I was welcomed by the Smol Boys and Kathleen. We later had dinner at a nice little restaurant near Turka's place where they had eaten the night before. I had a really yummy lunch-box type thing but with chicken (Mum, Dad, Prue, Sam and Shona would probably be the only ones who know what I'm talking about) And then we headed back home and then Turka came home late from work (this was the first time I had met him) and talk talk talk a bit, then I went to bed.

The next day Kathleen, Kieran, Ryan and myself went on an adventure all over Tokyo! (Well not really, but it sure felt like it). We were on a mission to find the Pokemon store for the Smol Boys, so we went to Hamamatsucho, where it is, and Kathleen forgot to bring her directions, but had a fair idea where she thought it would be, anyway we got off the train and walked and walked and walked and could not find the store. After about an hour, we decided to head back to the station and find directions/start again. We got back to the station and realised we went the wrong side of it! It was only about 400m to the right of the station but we had got out and walked left! Ha. Anyways, the boys and Kathleen went to the store while I had a rest and a coffee. They came back about 45mins later and we headed around the corner to the Kyu-Shiba-rikyu Gardens and spent an hour or so there, it was really beautiful and relaxing.

After that we caught the train up to Akihabara (electric town) I was on a mission looking for a camera for Sam, and prices and everything so I looked about and tried speaking to people about it, the camera that he wanted turned out to be about $200 less here, but Turka actually said that Akihabara is not the cheapest so I didn't get the camera there and then, as we were going to China the next day and coming back to Tokyo later in the week so I could get it then.

We had dinner at a little tempura place in Akihabara then went back home.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.042s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb