First Two Weeks of Oberservations


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Minato
September 30th 2008
Published: September 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After 2 weeks in Tokyo we have a few obervations:
1) It rains a lot, but the Japanese do not wear rain jackets for some reason. They always have umbrellas with them because even if it is not raining (rarely) they are using it to block the sun. Which brings me to my next point
2) They don't wear sunglasses (when the sun is actually out). The only time we've seen anyone wearing sunglasses, it has been girls in their twenties, and they are wearing them at night, clearly for fashion, leading me to my next point
3) The women are always wearing heels, ALWAYS. And it doesn't matter what the tempature is out, they will wear a wool dress or knee high black boots on a 80 degree day. I've even seen Uggs pulled out already and we aren't even out of September. Really, I don't know how they are always wearing heels, my feet ache at the end of the day from walking and I'm usually wearing gym shoes (I already stick out, doesn't matter), though into my next point
4) The Japanese are such polite people, they really keep to themselves. I watched a woman carry a 3 year old in a stroller up 2 flights of stairs from the train and about 25 men walked by without helping. She had to stop on the landing for a minute before finishing the last flight. I would've helped her had I not been scared that she was going to think I was trying to steal her child. I haven't gotten that far with my Japanese yet "Ma'am, please let me assist you carrying your stroller". I just learned "please".



Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb