Game Time


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Kokubunji
November 20th 2006
Published: November 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

HelpHelpHelp

My dinner is escaping
Well sports fans I hope your ready because its game time!!!

I once again find myself back in the structured and orderly world of Japan. It is always so strange to me to see everybody standing and waiting to cross the road. Even though there are no cars coming, they do no cross until the crossing light turns green (or as they say blue). I still find that one interesting as well. I know that the lights are green because I can see them and I am not color blind, yet they still call them blue...go figure.

Anyways, our first day here we went to visit Risa's father in the hospital. He is doing well. They say he will have to go back to the hospital in January for another round of medicine. The cancer is getting smaller though. Appearantly he lost his voice before, but now it is back and he sounds pretty good to me.

After that we wandered around the city for a while. We went near the famous fish market, but it was mostly closed down by the time we got there. Instead we wandered the streets near it and checked out the sushi
Lots of SeafoodLots of SeafoodLots of Seafood

Hey Jon, this is way better than Pop's fish Market
restaurants and the other fish vendors. We were able to try a few samples of some of the things. It is just so amazing the quality of the fish here. When I look at the tuna here it makes me so angry at the crappy tuna I have to serve to my customers back home. It was also really cool to see live king crabs. At home all we see are the legs and they have already been cooked. Here they have the whole crabs walking around in tanks. I am told that a whole crab costs between $200 and $300. If I could I would buy one and just gorge myself on it. I am trying to get my fill of seafood for the year while I am here.

We also decided to check out one act of a kabuki play. They have these headsets you can rent now that translates what is going on into english. It worked a lot better than last time when I had to keep asking Risa what was going on.

Yesterday Risa and I went to Tajikowa (spelled wrong) so she could get a haircut. It took 4 hours so I
Fresh CrabFresh CrabFresh Crab

Nice and alive. It costs between $200 and $300. In America getting frsh crab like this is impossible.
had a good time wandering the streets alone for a while. I went into all te large department store because they have markets on the bottom level. As far as I am concerned there is nothing better than wandering around the markets. I have so much fun looking at all the fish and the different fruits and vegetables they have. I will admit it would have been nice to have somebody with me who could tell me what I am looking at. The great thing about the markets here are the samples. Most of the vendors have little samples in front of the booth. I just grabbed a small bottle of sake and ate my fill. Not a bad way to spend the day. I also won 2000 yen playing slots while I was waiting. Score!! The price of tropical fruit seems to have dropped little bit. The mangos were only $10 vs. $18 two years ago. I was also very happy to find a takoyaki (Fried octopus balls) stand here. I thought it was mainly served in Osaka and when I was there a few years ago I very much enjoyed it. So we had to grab a little. We ended the day at a local little sake bar. It was very cool. Just a small litlle place that looked like a husband and wife owners were also the cook and barkeep.

For dinner last night we had the little crabs I bought in the market. We just fried the whole thing and ate them. They were ok, not much flavor. They definitely make a cool picture though. Tonight Risa's dad comes home from the hospital and I am going to make them dinner. Well that actually depends on whether or not I can find ingredients that I know at the store.

Well I'm off to Kokubunji, I hope everybody at home is having fun at work.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Chef's PhotosChef's Photos
Chef's Photos

Ok so most of my photos will be of food. What can I say, I am a chef
Snow Crabs and ScallopsSnow Crabs and Scallops
Snow Crabs and Scallops

Everything nice and alive
Front GateFront Gate
Front Gate

Leaving Risa's house
I'll Have The TunaI'll Have The Tuna
I'll Have The Tuna

$120 for the fish. I'll take it.
Lunch BoxesLunch Boxes
Lunch Boxes

Look how neat and nice they make everything
What should I have?What should I have?
What should I have?

Who needs to read japanese they displays of everythng
Making TakoyakiMaking Takoyaki
Making Takoyaki

Fried Octopus Balls
BreakfastBreakfast
Breakfast

Nice and healthy


21st November 2007

what up how was the flight is it cold at all? Looks like all indoor shots Butters is doing great the cat anoeys him but he dosent mind. Have fun man take more shots!
21st November 2007

Warner reply
yeah man its cold. Your Clairborne jacket is coming in handy. It was snowing in Nagano the last few days (the place we are heading friday for her brother`s wedding). Here in tokyo it has been like 40 or 50. The flight...what flight, I practically slept through the whole thing, All I have to say is never travel without XANAX!!!!! You`ll egt more pics don`t worry.
21st November 2007

Japan is freaking awesome! Hey you still need to email me your flight information! I never got anything from you. All I know is the 26th! And take some pics of Risa's house! I want to see her family's digs! Mitch is gay.
21st November 2007

cool pics
love all the pictures. you gotta save them all and write a book.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb