New Job, New Apartment...New Life!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Ikebukuro
December 10th 2010
Published: December 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Shiki School Dinner Party!Shiki School Dinner Party!Shiki School Dinner Party!

Staff, Students and friends doing what we do best at an izakaya... Eat, Drink and Laugh with 'Aka-man!'
Hey everybody, I'm back!

Once again it's been too long since I sent an update, and once again there's too much to tell in one blog post. Big events and big changes to mention, including a jam packed last few weeks. But this time it hasn't been because of work, but because of vacations, trips, and visits from best friends. So I'll save some of that for the next blog and start by going back in time a bit further to talk about all the good stuff from September, October and November. So check it:

I left off last time telling some stories about climbing mount Fuji and telling you about changes with my job and how life in Japan has been affecting me so far. Well since then there has been some huge changes in terms of my work and daily life. I finished my year-long contract with AEON Shiki School in Saitama and couldn't be more grateful for that entire experience. I never would have expected the amazing messages and farewells from everyone involved in the Shiki school community. I'll really miss all of my students and all the staff, especially the great friends I made over
Azabujuban Summer Street FestivalAzabujuban Summer Street FestivalAzabujuban Summer Street Festival

Me, Chikako, Rob and Tomomi lookin fresh for the street festival
the course of the year, including my great kids students! It's crazy to look back and realize that a year has gone by already, but then I remember just how much I have been able to experience and how much my students have improved and I get a sense of real accomplishment and gratitude. I know the school will be in great hands and the new teacher is fantastic with all the students already. So thanks to everyone in Shiki and don't forget your daily dose of Shaka Shaka Chicken!

So if I'm not working in Shiki anymore, what am I doing? If you guessed bilingual limestone cave spelunking tour guide then you'd be wrong. But just barely. If you guessed teaching more English, then I can't believe it, but you guessed right!
I was extremely fortunate to apply for and start a new job with AEON Corporate division in Toyko, teaching on site at businesses around Toyko. I took some vacation time and started the new position in November. So now it's mostly night classes of private or small groups of business people, with occasional intensive week long courses for specific business English, like tax information or other
Hahaha, sorry, Rob!Hahaha, sorry, Rob!Hahaha, sorry, Rob!

Aiko, Me, Rob, Tomomi and Misaki(Seamus too) hanging out at the Yokohama fireworks festival
industry specific language. It may not sound too different but I can tell you how much more freedom and responsibility it has allowed me to take on in my daily life. I'm really given total control of the classes and it means I have the ability to use my experience, creativity and enthusiasm to design classes to fit the specific needs of the students.

I can say that the first intensive, 8 day, 7 hour-a-day class was one of the most intimidating experiences I've had since competing in the NCAA Championships for Gymnastics a few years ago. Coming from experiencing pretty intense performance anxiety throughout my adolescence, it's a big step to be able to walk into a room full of serious and expectant strangers and attempt to run a 7-hour lesson in a completely different language that they're used to. Not too bad for someone who used to seriously sweat through a 10 minute business presentation in College. The thing I noticed is that anticipation and worrying thoughts still well up for each new class, but it's just something that I can accept and transform into positive motivation for my own teaching behavior and for the student's confidence.
Aquarium DayAquarium DayAquarium Day

Me and Erika checking out the aquarium in my new hood, Ikebukuro
It's definitely a challenge, but one that makes each day exciting for me. Especially now, since it's a little more high pressure situation when I'm teaching in a multi-billion dollar organization, standing at the head of the board meeting room table with 10 professionals in suits worth more than my apartment, and all I can think of is,

“Am I supposed to bow? Introduce myself? Speak French? Dance? Or are they just staring at my silently because I'm a skinny white guy with blue eyes?....Ok, let's choose saying hello...
'Hi Class!'....
(Hello, Hello...Hello Sensei...Suron? Sloon? Slow-an?).....
'Yes, please call me Sloan, Su-ro-n'.....

Ok not bad, now only 6 hours and 59 minutes to go...What the heck do I do next!?

Hahaha, so that's a glimpse into my mind at the start of the class. Luckily I pulled through the first day somehow and had a great 8 days with those students. But even with all my tendencies to be a little self critical and settle for nothing less than perfection from my teaching, it's all worth it to hear my students express their gratitude and hear their confidence skyrocket after the end of the week or month.
"Can we go to Disneyland!?  Can we, pleeeaaasse!!""Can we go to Disneyland!?  Can we, pleeeaaasse!!""Can we go to Disneyland!? Can we, pleeeaaasse!!"

On our way, being dragged, to Disney Sea with the crew. but it was fun
I'm not perfect by any means, but I know that I'm helping them to the best of my ability and when they are getting real benefit from the lessons it gives me that confidence to bring everything I've got to the next class, with a little bit more understanding, experience, and the same freshman energy and enthusiasm that I came to Japan with!

So with that let's move on to the other big change since September; The new Pad.

I liked Saitama, but I LOVE Tokyo. I moved to a new apartment in Ikebukuro, Tokyo, which is the Northwest downtown shopping district of the city. I'm here now with my best buddy in Japan, Neil (don't worry other best buddies, you're still at the top too, I just have a bunch, all right?) who has been around since all the way back in training last year. We had a great third member, Taylor, who was a great girl and we'll miss her a lot, and I hope she's having fun back home in California. Come back anytime, Tay-Tay!
So we got the place cleaned up, looking nice and ready for guests and it's great to have a spot
Mount TakaoMount TakaoMount Takao

Beautiful day Beautiful people beautiful hike = memory worth remembering
like this in the city for people to come over and hang out anytime. It is still an apartment in Japan, so of course it's HUGE! I mean, the opposite of that. Well, big enough for me in the living room and Neil in the bedroom, and we even fit a few big chairs by the windows so that anyone can come and relax. It's such a nice upgrade in terms of location and accessibility to all the places and things I want to do in the city. With great restaurants, malls, and people absolutely everywhere, I can't see myself getting bored of the area anytime soon. So you know what that means for everyone that's reading this right now....

“Come visit now before I leave Japan forever in June!”

You would be more than welcome and with my schedule I have way more time to do the types of sightseeing and social stuff that you would want to do while you're here. So get the ticket and tell me the dates before this place gets booked up!

Ok so that's the major changes over here in Japan. I still have tons of stuff to share, including
Dave's Farewell PartyDave's Farewell PartyDave's Farewell Party

Me, Samurai-Rob and Dave at Dave's farewell party a while back (guess who cried)
my trip to Korea, my soccer team success, my new girlfriend (!?), new philosophy and future plans, and I probably have a party story or two that is acceptable, or old enough that it doesn't matter how embarrassing it is anymore! But I'll send the next blog out soon with all that stuff.

Until then, I hope everyone is healthy, happy and anything but bored! And if you are bored, stop it!



ps. Most importantly I want to give a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to my big brother, Steve, and his FIANCE(!), Jenny, who will be getting married (next year?) !!!!!! Incredible news and I'm super super happy for you and for the whole family to be growing and coming closer together!

Pps. I booked the flight home so everyone back in Canada I hope to see you while I'm there from December 24th to January 9th! Tell me your schedules and let's get together immediately as soon as I'm home. I'm totally free right now, other than Christmas and a possible trip to Montreal with my bro and sis after new years so hurry up and tell me when we can hang out!
One question, it's
YES, this happens!YES, this happens!YES, this happens!

VOLUNTEER grease dancers every weekend in yoyogi park rockin killer dance moves and sweet poses. They ain't faking this, they live this. For real
not cold anymore in Canada, right? Cuz I'm just bringing my shorts and sandals.

As always, ONE LOVE!

Sloan


Additional photos below
Photos: 95, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Shiki School Dinner Party!Shiki School Dinner Party!
Shiki School Dinner Party!

Staff, Students and friends doing what we do best at an izakaya... Eat, Drink and Laugh with 'Aka-man!'
Azabujuban Summer Street FestivalAzabujuban Summer Street Festival
Azabujuban Summer Street Festival

Me, Chikako, Rob and Tomomi lookin fresh for the street festival
Hahaha, sorry, Rob!Hahaha, sorry, Rob!
Hahaha, sorry, Rob!

Aiko, Me, Rob, Tomomi and Misaki(Seamus too) hanging out at the Yokohama fireworks festival
Aquarium DayAquarium Day
Aquarium Day

Me and Erika checking out the aquarium in my new hood, Ikebukuro
"Can we go to Disneyland!?  Can we, pleeeaaasse!!""Can we go to Disneyland!?  Can we, pleeeaaasse!!"
"Can we go to Disneyland!? Can we, pleeeaaasse!!"

On our way, being dragged, to Disney Sea with the crew. but it was fun
Mount TakaoMount Takao
Mount Takao

Beautiful day Beautiful people beautiful hike = memory worth remembering
Shiki School Dinner Party!Shiki School Dinner Party!
Shiki School Dinner Party!

Staff, Students and friends doing what we do best at an izakaya... Eat, Drink and Laugh with 'Aka-man!'
Azabujuban Summer Street FestivalAzabujuban Summer Street Festival
Azabujuban Summer Street Festival

Me, Chikako, Rob and Tomomi lookin fresh for the street festival
Hahaha, sorry, Rob!Hahaha, sorry, Rob!
Hahaha, sorry, Rob!

Aiko, Me, Rob, Tomomi and Misaki(Seamus too) hanging out at the Yokohama fireworks festival
Aquarium DayAquarium Day
Aquarium Day

Me and Erika checking out the aquarium in my new hood, Ikebukuro
"Can we go to Disneyland!?  Can we, pleeeaaasse!!""Can we go to Disneyland!?  Can we, pleeeaaasse!!"
"Can we go to Disneyland!? Can we, pleeeaaasse!!"

On our way, being dragged, to Disney Sea with the crew. but it was fun
Mount TakaoMount Takao
Mount Takao

Beautiful day Beautiful people beautiful hike = memory worth remembering
Dave's Farewell PartyDave's Farewell Party
Dave's Farewell Party

Me, Samurai-Rob and Dave at Dave's farewell party a while back (guess who cried)


15th December 2010

THANKS FER THE UPDATE SLOANER!
Sloan, your blog helps me keep you alive here in Atlanta Georgia and it sounds as if you are really enjoying your life which makes me very happy. Don't forget about us girls in the South; Eryn, Maureen, and me! Wish we could come visit you! Well, you never know, do you. Eryn graduates from Boston University in May 2011 with her theatre degree. I am excited to visit her for 5 days Feb 17-22 to watch her perform her two day actors thesis, should be fun, and I have never had the opportunity to see her act in college before. I think she will be doing pieces from Macbeth, Hamlet, St. Monica, Perfume, and lots of others including an original LADY GAGA tribute. She says it is rated "X"! Maureen is going to BU too and loves it. Merry Christmas Sloan, we love you!
1st March 2011

hey your grandparents were my godparents!
hi Sloan just talking to my sister MP and she was with your mom this weekend and talking about you kids and while on the phone I googled you WOW are you your grandmother Crawford reincarnated or what! Very adventurous, smart and good looking to boot! Loved reading the blog - life sounds great - love your spirit! Pegi

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb