Ryogoku to Asakusa including Tokyo Skytree


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Asakusa
September 15th 2014
Published: December 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After scoring myself a Sumo ticket for the next day's wrestling, I spotted the Tokyo Skytree in the distance and decided I would just find it on foot and enjoy some views from 350 meters above the ground. After visiting the skytree, I happened upon a terminal for the Tokyo Cruise down the Sumida river, and jumped on a boat for the ride up/down the river for a bit.

As I recall, it was around ¥2000 to ascend to the Tembo deck in the Skytree which stands at 350 meters. For another ¥ 1000, you can ascend another 100 meters to the top deck, which I did not do. Looks like there is some type of amusement ride up there as well. Will have to do that next time. Ha!


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

SkytreeSkytree
Skytree

Still a bit of a walk from here....


Lazy Monday FishingLazy Monday Fishing
Lazy Monday Fishing

You couldn't see anything in this muddled water, but I watched for a few minutes and every now and then someone would pull a 3" to 4" wriggling fish out. I don't recall if they were mostly catching and releasing.




This right beside the grounds of the Solamachi and Skytree

Looks a bit higherLooks a bit higher
Looks a bit higher

Now that I am standing directly beneath it
Long LinesLong Lines
Long Lines

This was a Monday, but also a national Japanese holiday. I was given a voucher that let me gain entrance to the line to pay for a ticket and go up, but had to wait a couple of hours before I could gain entrance to that actual line.

Keeping Nature CloseKeeping Nature Close
Keeping Nature Close

A recurring theme throughout Japan, I loved this.

Futuristic SeatingFuturistic Seating
Futuristic Seating

I am sure George Jetson would have applauded this outdoor bar at the Skytree. I wonder how comfortable those chairs are to actually sit in though.
Solamachi CorridorSolamachi Corridor
Solamachi Corridor

Many shops on the grounds
Skytree Train StationSkytree Train Station
Skytree Train Station

Yes, I could have found my way here by train, but was more interesting to navigate on foot.


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb