Escape from Rice Fields


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Akasaka
February 17th 2006
Published: February 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

miso rice ballsmiso rice ballsmiso rice balls

Some of the food we were given on the boat trip.
Hi Everyone,

I'm finally getting to see more of Japan!
My mom arrived last week and it started snowing an hour after we picked her up and didn't stop snowing until the day we left Morioka! It snowed a foot the night she arrived! Travelling with her is definitely a different experience, the main difference is everywhere we go people offer us special treats, help and sake! We shared a boat trip through Geibikei gorge with a tour group who insisted that we eat most of their elaborate lunch and drink sake and beer. It was 11am so of course they were loaded. One of the men sat beside my mom and kept calling her 'mama san' (Mrs. Mom) and when we had to walk through part of the gorge he took her arm to walk with her, but ended up falling and pulling her down!
In Ichinoseki, we stopped in a kimono shop and the owner had me try on a $5,000 silk kimono with a $2,000 obe (the part that ties it together (so my mom could take pictures).
And in Tokyo, the minute we pull out a map a Japanese person will walk up and ask "Can
KimonoKimonoKimono

It was a bit strange to try it on over track pants and longjohns.
I help you?"
Yesterday, we were at a shrine as a wedding party was leaving; the uncle of the bride gave us special wedding candies and insisted we join the wedding party for photographs!!!! Preparation for next week--don't worry Camille, I won't wear a toque and ski jacket for your wedding pictures. Notice the head dress the bride is wearing is represents purity so that she keeps her anger in, something men in Japan obviously don't need.

Thankfully, Tokyo's 13 different subway lines are colour coded and announce the next stop in English and Japanese. However, on our first day here we went to the busiest station (2 million people get off and on there each day) and went to the wrong exit (there are 60 exits). We ended up in the right place, it just meant we had to walk for 20 min underground.

Accommodation has been great. I was a bit worried about the first place we stayed which was called City Hotel; Japanese characters can't spell city so the sign outside said "Shiti Hoteru." Fortunately, it turned out to be great and I slept on the most comfortable bed since I arrived in Japan. In
ToriToriTori

My mom standing in the entrance to a shrine.
Tokyo we have been staying in true Canadian style; a family friend works at the Embassy, so we are staying in the Embassy compound in a large gorgeous apartment (my entire apartment would easily fit in their living room). We have all the luxuries of home including a clothes dryer!!!! Wow, I could hardly remember life without having hanging laundry everywhere.

Sorry, this is so rushed! Our trip was wonderful. I'm off to San Francisco tomorrow and looking forward to sunshine, central heating and comfy beds. Hope you are all fantastic!
See some of you soon!
Love Maddy.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Geibikei GorgeGeibikei Gorge
Geibikei Gorge

Our group heading back to the boat.
BlossomsBlossoms
Blossoms

Our first ume (plum) blossoms in Japan! The white paper are fortunes tied to up so that the bad fortunes can be carried away.
Do Co MoDo Co Mo
Do Co Mo

The mushroom character for a Japanese cell phone company.
Wedding Party!Wedding Party!
Wedding Party!

We have had many people ask to take our picture but this is the strangest!
Nap timeNap time
Nap time

Everyone sleeps on public transit!
Rotating SushiRotating Sushi
Rotating Sushi

Oishi (Delicious)
AsakusaAsakusa
Asakusa

This Lantern weighs 100 kilograms.


19th February 2006

fun times
you and your mom look like you are having so much! i love the little mushroom character. are you having fun over there?
20th February 2006

Konachi WAAA
Lovely pics, look forward to seeing you soon.
15th March 2006

Wow, Great Pictures
Maddy, I love all of your pictures! Looks like you are having a very rich cultural experience in Japan. How wonderful that Connie and David could join you and enjoy their time with you. Gavin is taking and loves karate and is really keen on anything Japanese. Keep those pictures coming. Wish we could join you. Love to all. Barbara, Gavin and Bill
15th March 2006

Hi from Vancouver
Hi Maddy, thanks for the great blog. the pictures are wonderful. I'm sending the link to Joanna because I'm sure she'll love them, too. I'm so proud of what a beautiful young woman you've become. Seems like just yesterday you were little. I love you, Gloria
15th March 2006

I miss Japan!
Hi Maddy, I just checked this blog site. It was great talking to you on the phone from Qualicum Beach! Now I'm back in the Nelson snow belt and still skiing at Whitewater. Seeing all your pictures and comments makes me "homesick " for Japan and Japanese culture now that I don't work with my CIC students. Love, June
15th March 2006

so lovely
Oh Maddy, what a lovely journal you are keeping! It's so nice to see how well you look and I'm tickled by your recounting of your adventures. There are frequently Japanese speakers here at Arcosanti - several are here now, one is Anglo, the others are native Japanese. And if you get to Fukuoka, it would be great if you call my family to intoduce yourself and say Hello! Warm regards and enjoy the Bay area!
15th March 2006

Hey, Now I get all the details that Connie didn't tell me about. Looks like it was a fun visit - even though a bit chilly! It was great to see you when you were home, Madeline - you certainy surprised me!! Hope you are enjoying being back and your new job - and that spring is starting to happen. Gail

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb