I Love Festivals!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokushima » Tokushima
October 4th 2010
Published: October 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

TokushoTokushoTokusho

This is my commercial high school.
Remember that fantastic feeling you'd get in high school when classes were cancelled for a sports day or concert? These special events bring the same feeling for teachers, I've found, or at least they do for me.

On Sunday, my commercial high school held its annual culture festival and today, its sports festival - two days of excitement, color and much discovery on my part.

I kicked off the culture festival by performing a traditional dance with the Awa Odori club. During our last practice I'd tried the routine in the special wooden clogs female Awa Odori dancers wear - basically a flat rectangle on top of two smaller, perpendicular rectangles, and when dancing we tip forward onto the toes. Slightly treacherous. I spent Saturday picturing what would happen if I wiped out during the one-toed spin... most likely I would go down and then the poor students would topple over like dominoes.

You'll be happy to know that this did not happen. I hit it as hard as an American chanting in Japanese and dancing in wooden clogs can hit a traditional dance.

For the festival, each homeroom had set up a shop or an activity
Ready to DanceReady to DanceReady to Dance

Posing Awa Odori style
throughout the school, including a Japanese tea ceremony. These involve much meticulous detail, especially on the part of the host, who prepares and serves the tea. It comes from the idea that life is short and unpredictable. You never know if you'll have another chance to be with the people you're sharing with at any given moment, and the tea ceremony is your one chance to make that moment perfect.

After enjoying this ceremony and stuffing myself with ice cream, okonomiyaki and sweet potatoes, I watched a concert put on by some student bands. It seems that English levels increase when rock and roll music is involved, as I got to jam to Oasis and Green Day sung in near-perfect English by one student.

My favorite part about my life here is the time I get to spend hanging out with students outside of class. They find new ways to put a smile on my face every day. On this day it was getting to talk to a few third year students (I only have the second years in class), singing Oasis with them and teaching them the American rock and roll hand sign - and of course
GetasGetasGetas

My feet in wooden clogs, or getas
dancing with my Awa Odori extraodinaires - that had me smiling.

Today's sports festival reminded me how very much high school students are alike no matter where they live. Just like my high school's "Sports Nite," the day involved dancing, tug of war, a tire pull and a spontaneous student take-over of the outdoor stage to cheer and sing. Some things, it seems, are universal. Although I couldn't help being surprised to see the boys wearing the same costumes as the girls during the dance contest - they even wore Minnie Mouse outfits complete with skirts, stockings and bows.

Now I'm up late on the internet because there is no school tomorrow!! (Yes, no school still gives me the same feeling it did when I was a student). I wish every day was a festival...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Dance ContestDance Contest
Dance Contest

The students get to dress their homeroom teachers up in costumes for the sports festival dance contest. The teacher to my left is my wonderful supervisor.


Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb