From the chaos of Tokyo to the unspoiled natural beauty of Nikko


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tochigi » Nikko
August 14th 2006
Published: September 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Shinkyo Bridge spanning the Daiya RiverThe Shinkyo Bridge spanning the Daiya RiverThe Shinkyo Bridge spanning the Daiya River

This red-lacquered bridge was built in 1907. It is a re-make of the original (built in 1636) which was built for the exclusive use of the shogun and imperial messengers, but later destroyed by flood. There is a legend that Shodo Shonin crossed the river here on the backs of two huge serpents.
After two weeks of being absorbed in the busy city life of Tokyo I decided I was due for a trip outside of the city, so on August 14th (Statutory holiday for the Embassy) I boarded a train and headed north to Nikko in Tochigi prefecture. Nikko is considered part of Northern Honshu and is much more rural than Central and Western Honshu... it made for a great 1-day trip from Tokyo!

Although I had intended to start bright and early (like 7am early) I did not reach the train station until about 9:30. Adding to my late start to the day I somehow ended up on a 4.5 hour train ride instead of the 2hr40min train to Nikko. My initial reaction was frustration, however, after realizing that I was passing by some really pretty scenery I decided that my 5-hour ride was actually a great way to explore the north. (However, I did make sure to catch the right train on the way home.)

Upon arrival in Nikko I got out my trusty guidebook and chose the Shinkyo Bridge as my first destination. Although this bridge is really pretty in its scenic setting, I am not completely convinced that it deserves all of the credit it gets. Next stop: Tosho-gu Shrine. This mausoleum-shrine took 15,000 artisans from all over Japan 2 years to complete all of the building, carving, gilting, painting, and lacquering. This Meiji-era shrine was really pretty to walk through!

By the time I had finished exploring the Tosho-gu shrine it was already 3:30 and so I only had time for one more major attraction before having to head back. My selection... the Taiyuin-byo Shrine. "Finished in 1653, Taiyuin-byo is the mausoleum of Tokugawa Iemitsu (1603-51), the grandson of Ieyasu and powerful third shogun, who closed Japan to foreign commerce and isolated it from the world for over 200 years." My impression: surrounded by a grove of Japanese cedars, with ornate gates everywhere you look, and colorful carvings everywhere, this would have been a great place to live!

Unfortunately I had to return to Tokyo before having a chance to visit any of the famous lakes or mountains of this area, but having seen the two beautiful shrines of Nikko I was quite satisfied with my day trip out of Tokyo!

P.S. Sorry the quality of my pictures sucks, I was demoted to using a disposable camera for the day. Last time I will be doing that! (I have since bought a new digital... so hopefully the next scenic pics I end up taking won't be dark and blurry!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Pagoda outside Tosho-gu ShrinePagoda outside Tosho-gu Shrine
Pagoda outside Tosho-gu Shrine

This pagoda was donated by a feudal lord in 1650, but had to be rebuilt in 1818 after it was destroyed by a fire. Each story represents an element - earth, water, fire, wind and heaven - ascending in order.
Three Wise MonkeysThree Wise Monkeys
Three Wise Monkeys

These three wise monkeys are carved into an unpainted stable. I just found it strange that something we know well in the West (speak no evil, hear no evil, etc.) was carved into a stable in Northern Japan hundreds of years ago.
The stable with the three wise monkeysThe stable with the three wise monkeys
The stable with the three wise monkeys

This is the stable of the Tosho-gu Shrine. Although I didn't see it, a horse given by the New Zealand government is stabled here for several hours a day.
If I wasn't using a crappy disposable camera, you might be able to tell that this is a carving of a sleeping cat.If I wasn't using a crappy disposable camera, you might be able to tell that this is a carving of a sleeping cat.
If I wasn't using a crappy disposable camera, you might be able to tell that this is a carving of a sleeping cat.

Over an entrance in the east corridor, this tiny (too tiny for the disposable camera), carving of a sleeping cat is attributed to Hidari Jingoro (Hidari the Left-handed).
Ieyasu's treasure tower at Tosho-gu ShrineIeyasu's treasure tower at Tosho-gu Shrine
Ieyasu's treasure tower at Tosho-gu Shrine

This treasure tower contains Ieyasu's ashes. "Ieyasu (1543-1616) was a wily strategist and master politician who founded the dynasty that would rule Japan for over 250 years. Born the son of a minor lord, he spent his life accumulating power, not becoming shogun until 1603, when he was 60. He built his capital at the swampy village of Edo (now Tokyo), and his rule saw the start of the flowering Edo culture."
Yomeimon Gate at Tosho-gu ShrineYomeimon Gate at Tosho-gu Shrine
Yomeimon Gate at Tosho-gu Shrine

"Lavishly decorated with beasts and flowers, this gate has one of its 12 columns carved upside-down, a deliberate imperfection to avoid angering jealous spirits."
Tosho-gu ShrineTosho-gu Shrine
Tosho-gu Shrine

There is nothing like 500 other sightseers to ruin a peaceful setting!
Rinno-ji TempleRinno-ji Temple
Rinno-ji Temple

This was the first temple to be founded in Nikko (city name). It was built in 766!
Niomon GateNiomon Gate
Niomon Gate

This gate marks the main entrance to Taiyuin-byo Shrine. One Nio warrior god stands on guard on each side.
Nitenmon Gate GuardNitenmon Gate Guard
Nitenmon Gate Guard

This green Nitenmon Gate guard is the god of wind.
Nitenmon Gate GuardNitenmon Gate Guard
Nitenmon Gate Guard

This red Nitenmon Gate guard is the god of thunder.
Stone Lanterns of Taiyuin-byo ShrineStone Lanterns of Taiyuin-byo Shrine
Stone Lanterns of Taiyuin-byo Shrine

These stone lanterns were donated over the years by "daimyo" (feudal lords).


6th September 2006

Wow the colours are amazing! And your pictures turned out just fine !
7th September 2006

All the Shrines in Japan are quite amazing, so much intricate work in all the buildings. lol a.m.
7th September 2006

very intracate architecture..always amazing...lol dad.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb