The North Carolina of Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tochigi » Nikko
May 29th 2006
Published: May 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

First To answer a couple of questions in my comments section. Sebastion is my cousin in the Phillipines. He has traveled all around Asia. He is helping give me ideas of where to go and what to do. I did the public bath last night. It was interesting. There have been no pics of risa's family so far because posting pics can be hard sometimes without help. The computer stuff is all in Japanese. So unless I have somebody to help me, I cannot put any pics into the entries. Don't worry though, I have help now and two entries will be added tonight with a lot of pics.

I am having a perfect trip so far. And cheap. I have spent less than $100 and I have been here a week.

Yesterday we visited some really interesting temples and shrines. See pics below. I also saw some amazing waterfalls. One was over three hundred feet high. Quite beautiful. Dad, if you ever moved o JApan, Nikko is where you would live. It is about the same height as where you are. Beautiful mountains and streams everywhere. It has many waterfalls and it is a very country area. I can only describe it as the N.C. of Japan. You will see what I mean when you look at the pics below.

The hotel we stayed at last night was amazing. It was very traditional Japanese style. It had a big garden in the center with a koi pond and a small waterfall. In back of our rooms was another garden with more koi and ponds. The stafff were so accomadating. When we pulled up in the car they caom running out. They grab your bags and park your car for you. Then the have you sit down in a little lounge area and serve you real green tea and a little snack while they put your bags in your room and get everything set up. The service is amazing. they are always thanking you and bowing. They talk so much to you , but unfortunately I have no clue what they are saying. Needless to say it was quite an experience.In the hotel is also where I tried the public bath. They had one inside and one outside in a garden setting. I, of course, used the one outside. It was very relaxing.

Check the next entry
ChuzenjikoChuzenjikoChuzenjiko

Having fun near Chuzenji Lake
for some more really cool pics.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

KaygonotakeKaygonotake
Kaygonotake

Kaygono Waterfall
NikkoNikko
Nikko

The whole family
PurifyPurify
Purify

Purifying the mind, body, and spirit with holy water before entering the temple
CleansingCleansing
Cleansing

My turn
Real Green TeaReal Green Tea
Real Green Tea

When we first arrived at the hotel. relaxing in the lounge drinking real green tea. Little pieces of green stuff in it, but tasty anyways
appetizingappetizing
appetizing

Most of it tastes as bad as it looks, but I ate it anyways
TraditionalTraditional
Traditional

The family in traditional japanese dress in the lobby of the hotel
I fit inI fit in
I fit in

ok maybe not
TraditionalTraditional
Traditional

The family in traditional japanese dress in the lobby of the hotel
BeautifulBeautiful
Beautiful

What a kawaii (cute) picture
After DinnerAfter Dinner
After Dinner

After a traditional Japanese dinner


29th May 2006

Don't confuse the flip flops!
If you end up in a small hotel, or a traditional one called a ryokan, keep a sharp eye on the flip flops. They give you your own for wear inside the joint. Usually 3 sizes too small for large Western feet. But, what they DON'T tell you is that you gotta trade your in-the-house flips for the using-in-the-commode ones...do your little business, and trade back, leaving the other pair behind. If you do forget and wear the bathroom flips into the main house, an irate little woman will chastise you and beat you about the head. Amazing how happy and relaxed you look. Bravo.

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb