Fun filled weekend, Hanabi and the beach!!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shizuoka
July 25th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It finally feels like summer. The rain is slowly stopping, no more rainy season, about time I have not liked rainy season.
The weekend made me feel like Summer at home, drinks in a beer garden and the first beach trip.

Tomoko's Tanjobi




On Friday night some of the MEK staff headed out to help Tomoko celebrate her Tanjobi. We went to a Beer Garden, it was very different to beer gardens back in Australia. It was on top of a department store, 7 floors up and there were no lovely trees or the pub next door. But it was great. The food was delicious and the beer was cold and came in 1 litre glasses, my type of drink. The place was extremely busy and full of drunk people who had obviously been there since finishing work. It was funny watching the people leave when it closed there was alot of staggering going on....
Tomoko had a lovely time and we did the birthday thing with the cake. Marissa and I introduced the cutting of the cake and making a wish to our Japanese staff. They hadn't heard of this before and Tomoko made her wish so lets hope it comes true for her. After the beer garden closed we headed to our local pub Our Boozer for some more drinking. Fabulous night was had by all!

Hanabi




Saturday night was Hanabi, fireworks down by the river. I was very excited I love fireworks and I was going to wear my Yukuta for the first time. Mr Toyanaga's wife helped me put on my Yukuta, actually she did it all herself I had no idea how to do it. I felt very special in my Yukuta, very Japanese. It was very hot wearing it and very tight but it was so much fun going to the Hanabi festival in tradition dress.
The fireworks were amazing, they went on for more than 2 hours, there were so many, I have never seen such a long firework display before. The sky looked beautiful all lit up and the moon and weather was perfect for the evening. There was loads of festival food stall, festival food is the best. I couldn't get over the amount of people there, I felt like an ant when we left. It was funny because we all commented on the fact that if this event was in Australia, with that many people there would be fights for sure. But not in Japan everyone is very happy, calm and patient. When the fireworks finished we walked to our Boozer which felt like it took hours, due to the amount of people leaving. I happily swapped my traditional Japanese shoes for my Havaianas and we hit the pub. Marissa and I only had a few, which is a change. I got so many nice comments about my Yukuta, which is lovely.

First beach visit for the Summer



On Sunday morning Marissa, Mario, Patty, Simon and I headed to the beach for our first swim of the season. Now heading to the beach isn't like in Adelaide, it is a long drive, an hour and a half nearly two but well worth it. Mario and Marissa had found a nice beach to go to a few weekends before. It wasn't the crazy busy beach everyone goes to it was just past Omaezaki. There were people there but you had your own space, much more relaxing and peaceful. The water felt great and apparently no need to fear sharks at this beach...... We took the BBQ and had lunch there. We nearly lost the BBQ to the quick moving tide. The sand was covered in dead jelly fish, drift wood and lots of washed up rubbish due to the Typhoon 2 weeks ago. We all had a great day enjoying the cool water and soaking up the sun. There is something about summer that makes everyone feel happy and energetic.
The day at the beach was the perfect end to the fabulous weekend......



Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



31st July 2007

your looking truly gorgeous in the traditional dress, looking very slim and trim the hard work at the gym is paying off love ya xoxxo

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb