Small world :)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shizuoka
June 7th 2007
Published: June 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Ito Yokado CrewThe Ito Yokado CrewThe Ito Yokado Crew

Back: Imari, Ayako, Me Front: Ben (Australia), Dawn(Canada) and Sayaka Just missing David (UK) at Ernie Pyle for a Nomi Hodai
My fellow UPS loggers will enjoy this entry...

A couple weeks ago I was riding the train home from the Gotemba Outlet Mall (exactly like California outlet malls, I felt like I was at home except for the view of Mt. Fuji in the distance). Sitting accross from me was a foreigner reading an English newspaper. I thought nothing of it at first, but when she set her paper down, I got th feeling that I knew this girl from somewhere. I didn't want to bother her, but I was just so curious that I couldn't help myself so I asked if she where she was from and she said the States and I asked where she went to University and sure enogh she said university of Puget Sound. Turns out we graduated in the same class--2004!!! We weren't good friends but I think we had a class or two together---she is teaching English in Numazu, a city about an hour train ride from Shizuoka.

On Sunday I was at a Nomi Hodai (popular among the Japanese--you go to a restaurant and pay one price and for two hours you get as many drinks as you like and they bring a variety of different dishes for everyone to try) with the Ito Yokado crew. Our waiter came to the table to take our drink order and he was wearing a shirt that said Pacific Lutheran University on the back of his shirt (University of Puget Sound's arch rival!!!). On the front of his shirt was a picture of the Thea Foss waterway and the historic train station building in Tacoma! One of my Japanese friends explained the coincidence to him and he laughed and said he bought the shirt at a thrift store in downtown Shizouka.

Small world 😉.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.314s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb