Cherry Blossoms have arrived, Shizuoka Festival


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shizuoka
April 2nd 2007
Published: April 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Kawazu cherry blossom festival is held in Shizuoka, Japan, it was an amazing festival there were people everywhere.
Apparently Shizuoka's cherry blossoms are some of the first cherry blossom trees to bloom in spring.

Friday.......
The awesome foursome, that is Amy, Cate, Marissa and I went into check it out on friday but were disappointed to find it didnt really start till Saturday and then Sunday, at last we got to have some photos together and eat yummy food.

Sunday.......
I had a great afternoon at the festival with my lovely new house mate, Cate.

The parade was interesting, different from other parades I have been to in Australia.........there were musical marching bands which I have seen before, Japanese men on horses and lots more. What I found most interesting was at the start of the parade there was a huge group of men and women carrying a very large wodden box with something inside. They were chanting and looking very exhausted obviously what they were carrying was heavy. I fyou are reading this blog and know what it is, I love you to tell me in a comment. There are pictures of it included in my photos. My favourite part of the parade was the cherry blossom dancing girls. At the end of the parade there was alot of dancing my yung women, children and elderly women.

There food at the festival is amazing....so yummy and so much to choose from. There was stall after stall in the park where the castle is. I was very excited to see that they had fairy floss and toffee apples.

In the park there were young men and woman playing a variety of drums and I was blown away by how great it sounded and shocked at how much energy they needed. It looked like hard work to me.

It was a great day....enjoy the photos


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



4th April 2007

Thanks for the Photos
The awesome foursome are now the terrific threesome!
4th April 2007

But Im still awesome!!!
just doing it from a distance! looking forward to seeing what your up to. xoxo
11th April 2007

did you meet any prince's while at the castle that would have been fun the festival looked like it was fab I love the cherry blossom love ya mumxoxo
2nd July 2008

I danced at the San Hatoya in 1986
I am doing a paper for school and happened upon this article!!! I speak quite a bit of japanese-met a very nice man while in Ito and we email to this day-he is Unkle Koji to my kids-it makes me miss Japan!!! Really enjoyed U R article!!! Email me Vicki-dncervcna@netzero.net

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 65; dbt: 0.089s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb