Mount Fuji


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shizuoka » Mt Fuji
September 5th 2007
Published: September 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We stayed at Mount Fuji for 5 nights. This was 4 nights camping and 1 night on the volcano in a hut. Our camp site was very empty, at times it was only us there! This was good as we could do as we pleased, music on loud, singing along and cooking in the real outdoors. The site over looked Lake Kawaguchi (the largest lake around Fuji).
Up on Mount Fuji we stayed in a hut with many many other climbers. This was a great experience. Not much sleep though...... maybe 45mins, i had! See the photos! It was all a bit crazy really, climbing a mountain higher than any in the UK, what was i thinking!??? Oh 3 times higher than any mountain in the uk!!!!! Crazy. But we have seen the sunrise standing on Mount Fuji now.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

It's this way to the campsite!It's this way to the campsite!
It's this way to the campsite!

Only a 30 minute walk. That's nothing compared to walking along the railway in Russia!
Mount FujiMount Fuji
Mount Fuji

Staying on the north side of Mount Fuji, in Kawaguchi
Home for 4 nightsHome for 4 nights
Home for 4 nights

Our very own campsite, on the edge of a lake.
The morning of our hike up a volcano!The morning of our hike up a volcano!
The morning of our hike up a volcano!

Looking fresh with our walking sticks ready!
How high am I?How high am I?
How high am I?

Here we go!
Does my bum look big in this?Does my bum look big in this?
Does my bum look big in this?

A rocky path to the summit.
Quite a view!Quite a view!
Quite a view!

We had great climbing weather. Clear skies and cool air.
I reached the 8th Station.I reached the 8th Station.
I reached the 8th Station.

It took me 5 hours! All up hill! Couldn't believe i managed to climb this high, pretty happy with this achievement so far!
Curry and rice.Curry and rice.
Curry and rice.

I really needed this! Quite delicious. Sorry no seconds Phil!
Bed fashion on Fuji!Bed fashion on Fuji!
Bed fashion on Fuji!

The hats blocked off the light, good travelling tip there! Ear plugs in and we rested on our futons with 38 other climbers in our dorm! It was like having 2 huge long bunk beds in 1 room!
Game overGame over
Game over

At 3402m, within touching distance of the top, this was as far as my little legs, pumping muscles and thumping heart could go. Even my Oxygen bottle couldn't help me.
I saw the sunrise on Fuji!I saw the sunrise on Fuji!
I saw the sunrise on Fuji!

Marvellous view from the 8th station.
Our hut on Mars!Our hut on Mars!
Our hut on Mars!

Look into the distance and that was our resting spot for a few hours.
On the way down.On the way down.
On the way down.

A mystical dawn over Lake Kawaguchi.
A map of the route up FujiA map of the route up Fuji
A map of the route up Fuji

We climbed beyond the 8th step.


1st November 2007

wow
i have always loved japan and mount fuji .when we were told to do a fact file at school on a volcano i instintly chose fuji. i couldn't wait to start researching and i came across your page .would love to have been there

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb