Hi Matsuri- Shigaraki (Fire Festival)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shiga » Koka
July 26th 2008
Published: August 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Taiko @ Fire Festival 72 secs

Playing with fire!



The day finally came, though there were many preparations to be made. Firstly we had to make the torches (covered in a previous blog) but this time I went to help Rumi clean up the house we were going to stay in that night. We dusted and tidied, and got to play with her sister's daughter, Mihane. I think I enjoy playing with her soooo much because I don't have my little goddaughter here to play with.

A group of us were to meet up in Shigaraki, so Rumi and I hung aorund waiting for Kosuke, Kumiko, Honda and Otsuka. We all decided to have a small barbecue together before the festival, and again I got to witness two things I never expected to see in Japan.

1. Japanese people eating like there's no tomorrow.

and

2. Japanese peopole being loud and raucous!

I love breaking stereotypes...or seeing them broken rather.

We went off the the festival, and got to light our torches in a massive bonfire before parading off through the streets, with onlookers clapping and cheering as we passed. I had thought our torches big and heavy when we made them, but in comparison to other torches I saw, they were like little matchsticks!

Off we walked, proudly bearing our flaming torches on our shoulders, and trying not to set our heads on fire...when suddenly I realised that Rumi's torch was quite low. I looked around and noticed that all of our torches looked a little bit worse for wear....flames no longer licking at the wood but fleeing from it. Only 500 metres from the starting point, and all of our torches were completely extinguished. It was slightly shameful, especially since onlookers would say 'Gambate!' (Good Luck/Do your best). I mean really.....participating in a fire festival....with no FIRE!

We went on, with a kind man even exchanging his lit torch for my burnt out one....so I walked about another kilometre only to have the end of that torch crumble to pieces! We started walking up the mountain, Rumi and I being separated from the boys, and greeting helpful men holding battery operated torches to light our way. We trekked all the way up the mountain to the fire shrine, where we rested our torches in another bonfire, said a quick preayer, and then collected them once more to start our descent.

I was really happy to be able to participate in a local festival like that, and two girls on the side of the road even asked me for my picture! It really pays to be a minority here, although sometimes I feel like I stick out a bit - that would be when i get frowned at or stared at by passers by.

Some fireworks started as we made our way down the mountain, and when we returned to the city centre we got to throw our torches into a third bonfire, and were given ceramic medals and keychains for participating, as well as a sports each. We sat around with a few other people we met, watched some taiko drummers go about their business (see video) and that brought an end to the festival......save for Rumi and I consuming a bottle of wine and eating sweeties when we got to her place.

All in all, a great night!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Uh Oh!Uh Oh!
Uh Oh!

Caught out making mess in the bathroom.
Poser!Poser!
Poser!

Japanese kids learn to pose for pictures from a young age...
Leg Opener!Leg Opener!
Leg Opener!

This is what happens when you tell someone an alternate term for tequila
Hi Matsuri  Hi Matsuri
Hi Matsuri

Lit. Fire Festival
IMGP5080IMGP5080
IMGP5080

Rumi at the starting point


Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb