Family Visit and a Bungy Vacation


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Saitama » Shiki
May 7th 2010
Published: May 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Golden Week 2010!


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Ueno Dragon Dance with Bro and Dad 63 secs
2: Introducing Karaoke Partayyyy 68 secs
3: Insane River Champion 92 secs
4: Kyoto Monkeys with the Hong Kong Crew 58 secs
5: Gotcha Gotcha Struggles 69 secs

1 additional video(s) currently being processed
Anime TransformationAnime TransformationAnime Transformation

Getting all japanesee in a photo booth with Tad and Jaz
It's been so long, sorry everyone! Here's the one I wrote a few weeks ago:

Hello all fans, followers and felines! Lots to talk about, more to show in this jam packed update of the blog they call Sloaner.

Top of the list has to be the visit from two other bearded Crawfords last month, when my bro, Tad and my pops, Bunks came to Toyko for some sightseeing and partying. It was awesome having Tad here for about a week and a half to hang out and double the amount of stares and polite whispers seen and heard from everyone while we were traveling around. We packed a bunch of sightseeing in around Tokyo and went down to Kamakura with my girlfriend and her friend for a day. I only got a few days away from the office so we saw a bunch of Toyko and went out at night in the usual Shibuya scene with the usual crew. Then we tripled the fun when my Dad got here at the end of the week for a few days of relaxing and hanging out. We got to see Odaiba and the Emperor's palace and a few other places
Silly girl and boySilly girl and boySilly girl and boy

This is actually how we sit on the train usually
around Toyko. It was the start of cherry blossom season so we checked out Ueno park and pretty much just marveled at the amount of people taking thousands of close-up shots of the short lived flowers that line the park walkways. Check out the pics of other people taking pics, I think they're more interesting. Overall and awesome trip and proof that all of you, friends and family, should come visit me before the end of the year to get a taste of what it's like to live it up in Tokyo!

The next weekend we had an awesome Aeon Shiki staff and student barbeque party during the height of cherry blossom season. We went to a nice river close to our school and set up a huge tarp for the 25 to 30 of us that came to enjoy a pot-luck lunch and a lot of good drinks and great company. The sakura were in full bloom, and even with the abnormally cold weather we managed to party all afternoon and share some good stories and awesome games. Aeon got their first taste of the clown in me as I rocked shorts and was forced to show off
Coolest DudeCoolest DudeCoolest Dude

This little bro just came up to us on the train and said "Hello!" First japanese interaction for Tad
some backflips for the crowd. It really made me miss getting to do them everyday in the gym and at competitions my whole life... until the muscle pain set in the next day of course. So after that was a few weeks of normal work and good times before setting up for Golden Week and the long vacation I had been planning for a while.

It started with a 5 day trip back to the Kansai area with my girl, Jasmine, where we spent about a day each in Osaka, Kobe, Nara, and finished with Kyoto. We had a great time sightseeing and checking out all that those historic and lively places had to offer. Two of Jasmines good friends from Hong Kong met with us for a few days during their vacation across Japan, and we had an awesome time traveling around together. To tell you the truth I never imagined that my travel companions would consist of three awesome girls from Hong Kong, but I'm not complaining. It was cool to see them all together and getting to share that experience with them, even though I didn't understand any of their cantonese super-speed-speech! The weather was unbelievable
Tad and HachikoTad and HachikoTad and Hachiko

Just doing some sightseeing after the club as the sun comes up
and I'll have memories from that trip that will last a lifetime.

After catching the night bus home to Tokyo, thinking I could rest for a few days, I got a message saying that the Devastator crew was sitting on a 6km long, beautiful white sand beach on an island south of Toyko, and I knew that I had no choice but to take the next ship out there to meet up with them. First rule of the crew, don't let anyone else try to out-fun you at any time. So I lept onto the night-ship, (literally almost missing it as it set off from the pier) and 10 hours later I was watching the sun rise as I pulled up to what I can only describe as 'the closest thing to paradise that I have ever seen if my life". So the seven of us, including some friends from Canada visiting for a month, rocked out at on Niijiima island, savouring the natural onsen hotsprings, catching some waves on the beach, hiking and biking throughout the hills and cliffs, and maybe partying a bit the whole night, each and every night. Unbelievable, check the pics for sure. So
Tad in Yoyogi ParkTad in Yoyogi ParkTad in Yoyogi Park

Bro doin bro things in front of Meiji shrine
after all that rest and recovery we got back to Tokyo with a day or two to get ready for work and back to 'regular' life at school. It was a super jam packed month that will be tough to top, but if that's not an awesome challenge than I don't know what I'm here to do. Oh and did i mention i checked out another Urawa Reds soccer game at Saitama Stadium, ending with a sweet victory 3-0 over another strong squad. Another awesome day that almost slipped through the cracks in the memory!

On a different note I also had to send Jasmine off on her flight back to Hong Kong, as she is moving back home to pursue her goals and follow her career path that will provide a much more fulfilling challenge in her life. I don't want to say much about it but I know that I am incredibly grateful and happy for time we had together in Japan, and you can imagine the difficulty in going our own different ways at this time. Experiences like that are what makes life worth living, and is what motivates me to continue to share and love and learn what it means to be fulfilled and truly happy. Here's to all of you finding the positive and the opportunity to grow in everything you see and everything you do, no matter how it appears on the surface.
“Your mind will be like its habitual thoughts; for the soul becomes dyed with the color of its thoughts. Soak it then in such trains of thoughts as, for example: Where life is possible at all, a right life is possible.”
~ Marcus Aurelius from Meditations

Each and every moment gives me the opportunity to react and choose my attitude about life. All I have to say is, "can't stop, won't stop" (Look, learn and love). This is what I'm beginning to learn and it's something I will continue to strive to do, whether I'm on the adventure of a lifetime in Japan, or anywhere else in the world, or any other time in my life. Thanks for all your support and let's rock this moment, and then the next one too!


Additional photos below
Photos: 100, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

BullsyeBullsye
Bullsye

Darts battle, mad competition as usual
Cheating?Cheating?
Cheating?

sure you can get a bullseye from there!
Hitting MatsuyaHitting Matsuya
Hitting Matsuya

Grabbin some high quality food
Jaz and ElizabethJaz and Elizabeth
Jaz and Elizabeth

Meeting up with the girls in Kamakura
Super old tree and templeSuper old tree and temple
Super old tree and temple

Kamakura on a beautiful day
Super cheerSuper cheer
Super cheer

A giant bell and a giant fist pump, sweet combo
Chinese girls, chinese treeChinese girls, chinese tree
Chinese girls, chinese tree

They couldnt resist climbing a tree of their own
Awesome gardenAwesome garden
Awesome garden

ultra zen relaxation
Air Fives anyone?Air Fives anyone?
Air Fives anyone?

Tad giving an air five to the flying statue warriors
New WarriorNew Warrior
New Warrior

Tad giving the old flying bird-man warrior salute
Can you say 'Muscles?'Can you say 'Muscles?'
Can you say 'Muscles?'

Just flexing it out for some onlookers, no big deal
New FriendsNew Friends
New Friends

Tad meeting some hilarious wasted salarymen in the bar under my gym
New MomNew Mom
New Mom

Super nice 'Mama' who worked at the bar
Meetin and GreetinMeetin and Greetin
Meetin and Greetin

Dave, Tad, Miyuki and Me havin a drink after work


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb