Osaka - part 2 - our final place in Japan...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka
July 5th 2014
Published: July 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Back in Osaka, we checked into our new hostel where we would be staying for 4 days. This was a proper hostel, with backpackers from all over the world (America, Italy, Europe, Vietnam). We were in a 10 person dorm, but it was actually 5 rooms divided with plasterboard and curtains for a door, with a bunkbed in each. The room was weeny and the 'beds' the most uncomfortable yet - they were not Japanese style, more a bit of duvet on the floor!

So, we everyone in our hostel went out (Saturday night is big in Japan), so we decided to follow suit and ended up in Osaka. Whilst in a bar, we met an Irish guy and a Canadian guy. We talked to them for a bit and Chloe finally learnt what 'bashi' means (it forms part of a lot place names) - she was excited to find out it meant 'bridge'. After this bar, the guy took us to a Japanese night club - ¥2,000 to get in and all you can drink! So, as Brits, we cracked on with that as best we could. We drunk a fair amount for the £12 entry fee! Whilst in this club, i met an American guy who asked if I was from Wales. Wales. Never did I imagine I would sound Welsh to anyone! Oh, and before going in this club, I had to buy some shoes - ladies are not permitted to wear flipflops in clubs! The boys said it's common for the club to have shoes to lend you but didn't that night so off we went to a shop to buy shoes! This was a good move as the place we went to sold EVERYTHING, and it was here we went back to and bought mega cheap electricals - straighteners, hair drier and a camera for Clo.

We also went to Universal Studios - it was good but not really my thing. But the Jaws right in Japanese was hilarious!

During our stay in Osaka we were limited to what we could do due to the sheer amount of rain (turns out a big typhoon is on its way and hit the island of Okinawa pretty bad 😞 ). So, we shopped and ate a lot - found the ¥100 shops (99 stores)!

I had proper sushi here for the first time too and have to say, I didn't love it. The salmon was nice but I didn't really enjoy the rest. it didn't help that all the sushi places smell like aquariums and there we live fish and other sea urchins in tanks out the front. Think I will stick to the westernised version of sushi if I ever eat it again!

Our last evening in Osaka was spent in a launderette with lots of Japanese men - finally able to do some washing! Although it took us a while as we our newly learnt Japanese was not as good as we thought!

My summary of Japan:

Well, I loved it. The culture, their manners, the pride they take in their country, their jobs and homes. the crime rate is extremely low here and conviction rates high - it well out does the UK's figures and as a result, I have never felt so safe in a place as I do in japan. Even if you have a little sleep on the train (which is VERY common in Japan due to long working hours and long commutes), you can rest easy in the knowledge that when you awaken, all your belongings will still be with you! Some people if they miss their trains even sleep on benches at the station!

The transport system here is immense - Boris Johnson should get over here and take a look a Tokyo - they know how to keep a city running! They also ride bikes everywhere here - you just see rows and rows of them!

I have mixed feelings about japan - they are kind and gentle people, but as a westerner, their food is too different for me - I mainly miss my toasted bagel in the morning (sad I know!).

My favourite place here has been Yokohama - clean, tidy, but more laid back than Tokyo. I really hope to visits Yokohama again, but for now, I am off to the airport to head for China (as long as the typhoon doesn't get our flight cancelled!).


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 39; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb