BREAKING NEWS! 03.11.2011 Earthquake report in Osaka, Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka
March 11th 2011
Published: March 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This is my first experience with an earthquake or any sort of thing like this. I have never experienced anything like this before. I have only lived in Japan for just over 3 months but over that period there have been no reports of earthquakes or tsunamis. I am currently located in Osaka, Japan and the reports stands with minor quakes in the area with no sever damage to houses or buildings. Luckily, my host family and I are inside the southeastern sector of Japan far enough away from any large threats of tsunami damage or flooding. The ground rolled for about two to three minutes and felt like waves of water washing over the house. It may have been 2 minutes but it felt like forever before the grounds finally stood still. There was a strange eerie creaking sound that emitted from the house and doors that were swaying from side to side. Outside, some of the poles and fixtures attached to houses moved but no buildings or houses were damages. There were two more aftershocks but nothing to major in Osaka region. A lot of the videos on the TV and the people broadcasting seemed heart wrenching because even though I was on the island I could not do a single thing. All the roads, buses, trains/subways, and airports were grounded or closed and nothing was running at the time. I made sure to call some friends in Japan including my new host family in Suita, Chikara in Tokyo, and some local friends. News reports flashed videos of cars, people, trains, and buildings swept away in Sendai, you could tell this was different and it was something that you cannot prepare for. Below are my reports and the times displayed to show the events unfolding as they happen.

14:52 - An earthquake is happening right now is in Osaka Japan, The time is 14:52. The ground is shaking a little bit. Light fixtures and hanging items are shacking and moving side to side. The house is swaying form side to side kind of like on a boat on the ocean. I actually felt sea sick while the house shook. I tried to keep my eyes on something solid and not on the shaking or swaying items in the room or at the doors. Kaori came in the room and opened all the doors and windows, she asked “are you ok?” I replied “I am fine.” She turned off the gas and turned off power that is unneeded. In this situation its best to stay calm and make sure you have a phone, an ID card, and make sure you are away from any hanging items or chandeliers. I was told not to go outside since buildings may collapse and crush those outside. The outside fixtures were moving slightly but the buildings and houses around were ok. The news flashes on and the reports flooded in about an 8.9 Earthquake hitting Sendai and around Tokyo. I scrambled to get more info and will update as soon as I receive new info on what is happening.

14:58 - The news reports 7.9 seismic activity by Tokyo and also reports of buildings on fire and a tsunami headed to the east shores of Japan. Tokyo and north sectors of Japan are at high risk for floods and tsunami, but Osaka is ok with minor reports of being hit by tsunami. The trains and airplanes are grounded and other planes are routed to another airport. The news is showing that many people are trapped at their location without means of transportation. They news also says not to use cell phones but rather landlines. Reports are flashing certain areas of Japan where the likeliness of a tsunami will hit and how bad it will be.

15:54 - There are still small quakes around Tokyo area and nothing is moving including the trains, cars, and planes. Disney land is being evacuated and other sections by Tokyo. Villages and people are being evacuated and cars are being streamed through to make sure they are out of the hazard zone. Possible floods in progress and flooding already in Sendai and parts around that area.

16:08 - Floods are moving into Sendai, Japan and its more than 20 driving hours away from my current location. The waters are moving all items including trucks, houses, and buildings in its paths. You can see the paths of the tsunami and see hoe massive the waves are. The news reports show that an 8.9 magnitude quack with waves as high 10 meters are hitting the shorelines of Sendai. Debris such as cars, building, boats and even people are swept up into the waters. Some people are on top of buildings and safe from danger. Roads are closing and the Japanese Defense force will be out monitoring traffic and other forms of transportation.

16:23 - The news reports that snow and flooding is occurring in the north sector of Japan and that the Airport is flooded and not able to receive planes or send planes out. There is also no power in Yamagada and Tokyo as of now. Also lower sectors on the east part of Japan are flashing orange which is a warning to those that a tsunami may strike close or at those locations.

16:31 - Major reports of Sendai being the center of the quake with the Richter factor around 8.9 and with a warning of 7 out of 10. Major damage and a number if buildings have been hit and some are still on fire, as well as gas containers have exploded and continue to burn. Firefighters are on the grounds and helping all locations in Japan.

17:09 - Order is being restored and the President said to stay calm and keep safe. Workers and fire fighter are checking buildings that have collapsed and other structures are being evacuated for safety reasons. People are being asked how they are ok. There is no movement or transportation happening in Tokyo and no one is traveling. Reports are that 4 people have died and some people who may be lost in the debris. Nothing further from Osaka sector but Sendai will continue to have news flowing.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



11th March 2011

Thank you for your information
I have a son who lives in Osaka, so your update has served to calm my nerves a bit. We hope to hear from Yoshi soon. Thank you so much for the update of Osaka.
11th March 2011

so sad
Oh my.. I was really in shock when I knew about this.. I am going to Osaka in only 3 weaks cause the MEXT scholarship, and I was too worried about people there. I have experienced earthquakes here in Peru but never in high level.. I admire so much your friend that knew excatly what to do, i beg I could fine someone that could be with me in moments like that, cause i would be in pain for sure.. Thanks God you are ok and you could give good news about Osaka at least.
11th March 2011

Quick Question
I was doing a web search for more information about todays events in Japan and stumbled across your site. Your updates are very informative thank you so much. I was wondering I have never been to Japan but a friend I met in college lives there. I'm not sure where she is located but her address is Itami, Hyogo Japan. Can you let me know if this area was affected by the earthquake and tsunami? I haven't gotten ahold of her yet to ask. Thank you again our thoughts and prayers are with all of the people in Japan right now.
11th March 2011

thank you
My brother lives in Osaka and your blog has been significantly helpful for me. Cannot thank you enough for your time and thoughtfulness to provide this.
12th March 2011

Thank you
I have friends I am trying to check on and your thorough report has helped ease my mind. thanks
12th March 2011

Can travel or not to Osaka
thanks for the update in Osaka, I feel for all the people in regions where the quake happened and those that have died in the tsunami. Now not only do residents in Christchurch have to deal with an Earthquake but Japan and Yunnan province in China have to deal it one as well. Do you think it would be wise to cancel my trip to Osaka on Tuesday?
12th March 2011

Trip to Osaka
Everything has died down in the region and there are no after affects of the earthquake anywhere in Osaka. I would check online for planes heading to Osaka and or flights that might or might not be flying to and from Osaka. Everything is open and the trains are running in Osaka but other parts of the island might be difficult to travel to. The call is up to you, but I would check with your travel agency just in case.
12th March 2011

Itami, Hyogo Japan Update
As of now everything is back to normal in Osaka, Japan. All businesses are open and all public transportation is running. There is no need for concern if your friend lives in Itami, Hyogo its within the western part of Osaka but that location had minor effects from the earth quake. Hope you are able to get in contact with your friends. Good luck.
13th March 2011

Thank you
Thank you for your blog. I am coming to Osaka with my Mother on Friday 18th. I am so sorry for the people up North. I am in 2 minds about coming. New Zealand were crying out for Tourists to come back to other parts of New Zealand as they rely on the tourism income, not so much Japan, not sure. Will wait and see. Thoughts are with the Japanese people and all living there.
13th March 2011

thank you
I have a friend who lives in Sakao, Osaka with her family. I've been worried about them and haven't been able to reach them by email or Skype. Unfortunately, I do not have a phone number or I would have tried that by now too. It was good to read you report and know that it wasn't too bad in Osaka. thank you.
13th March 2011

Osaka Report
Things have returned back to normal in Osaka and there is no reports of any serious damage to Osaka region. I assume it is safe to say your friends and family are alright.
14th March 2011

2nd Explosion
Hi, i just watched the news about the 2nd explosion nuclear plant in Fukushima. &it's very heartbreaking. May i know how is the situation in Osaka now? Is everything normal?
14th March 2011

Glad to hear you're fine. Scary. My prayers to you and all those suffering from loss of loved ones and properties.
14th March 2011

asking for help
any japanese white pages in engish hints? i am trying to find out how a friend of mine in osaka is doing as she is not responding on our emails/facebook. thanks snez in zurich, switzerland
15th March 2011

Osaka Report
As I stated earlier in my report, Osaka is doing fine and there is no damage to the area. I am sure there are just some internet and phone delays due to all the people calling family and loved ones. I am sure you will find her. Good luck and stay safe.
16th March 2011

I cannot thank you enough for the information on Osaka. Many, many people trying to get in touch with friends living there. Internet and phones seem to be down, and that leaves you to wonder what is happening there. It is so good to know that it is just a communication breakdown where Osaka is concerned. I am very thankful that you are all okay, and send prayers, love and strength to those in your country affected by the devastation of the quake and tsunami. Please, know that others are thinking of you around the world - YOU ARE NOT ALONE.

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0856s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb