12.26.2010 Aeon mall bike ride alone in Osaka


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka
January 7th 2011
Published: January 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As you can tell the dates have changed because I’m including events rather than my life story of waking up and having breakfast. On the plus side this gets to all the good events and stuff, however bear in mind that I might forget a few items here and there so later journals will include those tidbits. And with that were on to the story!

Today was the first Osaka Aeon mall visit by bike alone! It was somewhat of a nice day cool day and I thought it deserved a bike ride, but I had no destination at the time so I made it up. I originally thought to go to the mall then took a detour to follow around some other odd roads and places that I had not yet seen. It was superb to get out and learn more about Japan and places to go. The ride to the mall was interesting since I got lost twice on the way. First was going to a suspicious tea house and the other was in fact the wrong way. I regained my sights and followed other bikers to Osaka Aeon mall.

There were a few places I had yet to see in the mall so I wondered around and tried to find some places to venture. I did find another arcade location that apparently teaches a six year old to and race horses, after that you can play a game with swim suit models on the screen while betting on pachinko. However, I love all the variety and options to choose from and the large Sega games that I thought were cool in America were amazing here at the mall. It was still cold season and my nose was of course runny and I didn’t bring the new handkerchiefs Kaori bought me so I ran to the bathroom. I got into the restroom walked to the stall and then a woman janitor walked in without a hesitation. I paused and looked around at other men in the restroom and no one seemed to care while she walked behind a man relieving himself and grabbed some trash. Now that doesn’t seem like much, however in the dorms at MNSU our janitor Judy always asks if anyone is inside then waits for people to come out before going in to clean. I walked out a little puzzled and continued my journey around the mall. I made a few stops inside another store called Joshin, the electronic store, and got to see some amazing electronic items. They apparently don’t sell any dell computers at Joshin but they do sell small car air fresheners. Glancing around I saw some other items and walked out to get some free coffee downstairs at one of the international stores that sells items from America. It was funny to see a can of cherry coke and Doritos chips for sale at an “international market”. The day was ending so I hopped on my bike to safely make it home without getting lost.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb