12.21.2010 Visit to Midori's school and train ride alone in Kyoto.


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka
December 27th 2010
Published: December 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today was unlike any other day I had. Today I was able to visit Midori’s school in Kyoto and go shopping in the mall. Kaori, Midori and I got out of the house around 8:30ish to get Midori to school on time. She is a nursing student at Tachibana University located in the mountains of Kyoto. With an easy train ride to Kyoto and a 20 minute walk up the mountain to campus, we made it to her school. As we arrived to the school I noticed there were all Japanese students and professors, except for one British professor who teaches English. I’m still not use to being a minority in Japan. But at her school it seemed like I was famous like Brad Pitt. People also tend to stare at me, I felt very uncomfortable and almost alienated. I was bashful at first but I knew I had Kaori and I was much more willing to open up and talk to people. I wanted to get some shots of the school since it’s not like MNSU campus, instead all the buildings are built up and again it’s located in the mountains. Midori had class right way so Kaori and I walked around to the library and student union to find some places to visit in Kyoto. We eventually made our way to the student union and grabbed a bit to eat. Again everyone seemed to be very intrigued as to why I was at the campus and who I was. One guy dressed in all black, was pointing at me and talking to people to make sure others knew who I was. I thought nothing of it then Midori texted her class was over so Kaori and I went over to the Nursing department. We met with Midori and one of her friends named Shiori at the study area and talked for a while. After 10 minutes or so the same guy who pointed at me in the café walked over and I met him. Apparently he was pointing at me was because I was with Midori’s sister Kaori and they all seem to know her. My newly acquainted friends I met also heard about a “white guy” walking around with Kaori on campus taking pictures. When news arrives on campus, within a matter of minutes it floats around and everyone knows. Our small group walked over to the café
Honda TSXHonda TSXHonda TSX

This is the "Acura TSX" My Dad's car, EXCEPT they never made this "Honda" version available in America!
and grabbed some food. I thought it was funny that the lunch ladies thought I was a student, in doing so I got a discount for the food. However, I was again the object of curiosity for all the students. It even seemed like people tried to take pictures of me when I was not looking. Kaori, Midori, Shiori, their friend and I all sat to eat and talk about what we do and who we are. I really enjoyed talking with people about America and what I do as a student in the US, It was also great to learn about Japanese school and how the system is set up for students. Eventually we had to disperse since people had class and had to go home, so Kaori, Midori, and I made our way to Kyoto station.

When we arrived at the station we shopped for about 10 minutes when Kaori and Midori wanted to split up and go their own way for the night. Kaori wanted me to find my way back home via the train and make me learn to get home. I was extremely nervous and I my Japanese language was not strong enough to speak with people. I had no idea how to get home and the only info I had was my address. I ended up going to the information center to get some barring on what to do and wherer to go. I arrived I asked someone how to get to Osaka, Kadoma where I lived and no one in Kyoto information center knew how to get me home. *Advice, when in trouble ask university/young adults for help* I grabbed a map to see if I could get home by looking at the rails but even then I had no idea. I ran to the lower level where tickets where being sold and tried to talk with someone there, but again no one spoke English or understood what I was trying to do. *Advice, always carry a Japanese to English book with you everywhere you go in case you need to find your way around* I consulted my hand-held Japanese book called “いつそイラスト” to find out some simple sayings to get on the right train. I found a family willing to help me and asked them for help on the ride, the son pointed me to the right station and I got my ticket to Osaka. I got on the train and lucky spoke with guy sitting across from me named Akiyoshi Tanaka and asked him about different stations. He was very generous and very helpful when helping me find my way home. We spoke for the whole train ride in mixed Japanese and English dialogue while passing his Iphone between each other using a translation application. I got to Osaka station and needed to transfer to another train to Kyobashi station, lucky Akiyoshi was kind enough to help me get to the station when another person noticed I was lost and offered to help. I thanked Akiyoshi and left with the other student, I was again surprised that he could speak very good English and he also lived in the same area I did. We spoke about school and our challenges in language. I was surprised to hear he dropped out of school and now works, but he wants to go back to school to become a translator. There are no such things as student loans so your parents are the ones who make or break your future. After 3 hours of finding my way, I finally arrived at Owada station and thanked my new friend for all of his help. I gave him my business card and walked home tired but happy.

The journey to get home was very tough and very daunting to go through, but I feel content that I have a better understanding of the train system in Japan. If I could give advice to those who want to travel, you must learn the language, and you must be willing to go out and explore the world.



Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



28th December 2010

日本~!
Hi, Brian! I'm very happy to read that you are having great experiences in japan! your blog also reminded me my very first experience in the us. I was very nervous and hated being a minority; everywhere I went, people were staring at me! i still don't get used to be a minority, but that has turned out to have new perspectives that I had never had :D and congratulation that you made your first journey to get home! i can tell how you felt when your second language is not strong enough to speak to people! but you made it!:D I'm looking forward to reading other updates. よいお年を!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb