Day Three- Osaka


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka
July 12th 2007
Published: July 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post


jinbei zame
今日はすばらしかったね!Today was amazing!

This morning, I woke up at seven, instead of six. I went downstairs and I got some breakfast, Mrs. Tanaka makes really good food! (Eggs, Sausage, raisin bread, peach, amazingness...)

I just vegged for the rest of the morning, and then the day got interesting.

We first went into Osaka-shi (Osaka City) to go see Osaka-jou (Osaka Castle). There I tried for first ever Mos Burger. Mos Burger is a restaurant chain in Japan that makes incredibly good burgers. Americans ain't got nothin' on these! That was great. Afterwards, we went to Osaka Jou park. It has a really interesting history:

Osaka Jou was fist built in the 1500s by Toyotomi Hideyoshi. It was supposed to show the strength of Osaka. As Osaka got into wars, it kept on being burnt down. It was rebuilt about four times, and renovated in 1995. It is a beautiful place. I got a Osaka shi is really beautiful.

we then went to the aquarium: Kaiyuukan. There they have a whale shark (called jinbei zame), named kaikun (little ocean). We had a tour, in Japanese. The woman spoke so quickly, i understood almost nothing, but it was cool looking at everything they had. They had some jellyfish from New England!

After that, we went to a kaiten sushi-ya where we got some good Sushi. One kind was abura saamon (oil salmon). It was really just slightly cooked salmon with oil, not that good, and very hard to eat. We also tried some yari ika ippon, whole squid, raw. That was really good. It all had wasabi, too. Man, if you thought wasabi in america was spicy, well, let's just say I understood the true meaning of the japanese word "karai ". They made me order some king salmon sushi, and I did :D. We spoke almost the entire time in Japanese. I think it is improving, I'm really excited!

Now, we traveled everywhere by train or car, and let me say that the japanese train system is very cool. The trains and train stations are very clean, everything is efficient. The tickets are incredibly small, and it's awesome. On the way back home we saw Yukkari's father. (Least year in the summer、Kie  brought her friend, yukkari, and we had a conversation). He seems like an awesome guy. It was fairly easy to understand him, and he is very... genki (vigorous, spirited, full of energy... can you see why I just chose that japanese word?) I think I will meet Yukkari again.

Today even thought it doesnt seem like I did much, it was awesome and full of new experiences.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



13th July 2007

Osakajou #10
Osakajou samurai guitar san :)

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb