My first day in Japan.


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka
July 10th 2007
Published: July 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So today was full of suprises. I an typing on a Japanese computer, so it is really difficult to type well. I have had to restart this about five times now.

My first flight from Boston to Detroit was fine. I got on with no problems. When I arrived at the Detroit airport I was in for a few suprises. First, the signs are not only in English and Spanish, but also in Japanese. I thought that was cool. I had about a three hour layover so I decided to get something to eat. I called up some people, talked to them about what I should eat, and decided to go with Sushi. There is this really good Sushiya in the airport.After that, I waited for the flight.

Thirteen hours on a plane is way shorter than it seems! Looking back, I thought I should have been paying rent. I slept a lot and was really restless the entire time. I watched meet the robinsons, and ground hogs. Both good movies. I felt so gross at the end of the trip. It is all just kind of a haze in my memory.
my trip
The first thing I think of when I get out is, "wow, it's humid." It is the Tsuyu season in Japan, so it rains a lot and is really humid. I got through customs fine, and the moment I leave baggage claim I see Kie, after months. It was really cool to see her again, and we kind of chatted, she led me around, and we took a really long bus ride to her house. There was a thunderstorm outside, even though I couldnt hear the thunder. The lightning was picturesque.

So we get out of the bus and I see this little woman running at us, she takes my bag, and it is then i realize it is Kie's mom. We get in the car and we talk a little bit. I was really tired so it was really hard to focus on what people were saying. I got into the house and met Mr. Tanaka. He speaks English well, which makes it all the easier to not speak Japanese. I gotta be on guard! We sat down at the table and ate some food. All kinds, and it was all delicious! Some gohan, chicken, fish, tofu, and even potato salad. Even though I wasnt that hungry, I ate a lot because it was so good. The has a traditional Japanese feel, but it has modern aspects to it, too. Pictures are here! After this I am going to go to sleep, I need to get accomodated to Japanese time. It is 11 pm here right now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



11th July 2007

Is that
a faucet on the top of the toilet? Great pics. Keep them coming
11th July 2007

Natsukashii!
Way cool, Arthur! It's so great to see pics of you in Japan already. It makes me want to be there. You're gonna love it. Eat lots of sushi and go to the 100yen store for me!! By the way, I emailed my friend in Shukugawa so feel free to get in touch with them. Even if you don't go to church you could maybe hang out with them on another day of the week--check out the school/classes...learn about life as a Japanese Christian, etc. Mata ne!
12th July 2007

ummm, what?
ARTUROSANDOVAL!!!!! so mom finally hooked me up with the link to your travel blog. I miss you tons! Keep posting, because this way I get to see all the schweet things you are up to! <3 your sister
12th July 2007

Hey, Arthur. So glad you arrived safely in Japan. This blog is really great. So glad that we can keep track of what you're doing. With that Jimmy and Joe had one of their own!! Enjoy your time in Japan. We'll miss you terribly. Will stay in touch. God bless! Love ya!
13th July 2007

Hola de Swampscott
Buenos dias, Arthur. Me alegra mucho aprender de Barbara Coners que estas en Japon para visitar y explorar. Estas sorprendido de escuchar de mi? Estoy a Curves. Buena suerte en tus aventuras? Vas a estar en Espanol 4 en septiembre? Pues, hasta luego. Senora meagher
30th July 2007

Guess Who...?
Hi ALZ....This is neat, YiaYia and Pougi gave me your blog info and I am saying hello. This looks like a great trip for you...so you are an explorer like your dad, very cool. I am so impressed with your sense of adventure at your age. I am also jealous, I bet the sushi is ven better there than here in Mhead. It's Christine Valeiko, I was once your Nanny if you have not figured me out yet!! :)Have a blast....Love CJC :)

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb