Japanese Experiences


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka » Osaka
February 6th 2009
Published: February 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sadly my time in Japan has come to an end, I can't believe how quickly the time flew, but then I have only spent a week here as opposed to several weeks like in OZ and NZ.

On Wednesday I spent most of the day updating this and going to the cinema, a theraptic day! I did also go to an archade where I played Mario Kart and took silly pictures of myself - sooo fun.

Yesteday however was a bit more active! Holly had another day off so we went to Spa World!

It was kind of a mix between spas I've been to in England, the ones in NZ and the baths in Sweden. For a start you had to be naked and segregated like in Sweden. Holly and I were there together 3 and a half years ago and there was no chance we were getting starkers like the Swedes! This time however we had grown up a little so merrily stripped down!

I've never been so clean in my life, honestly! You had to thoroughy wash before even entering the spa for a start, not just a splash, a thorough wash! I think this is good, I can't understand why we are't required to wash before we climb into swimming pools at home, it's really disgusting we don't really, maybe if we did there wouldn't be so much chlorine burning our eyes!

Anyway, there were stinking hot pools like in NZ, mud too, but it wasn't as thick, Japan has lots of geothermal energy like NZ. There were saunas and steamy rooms like at home. My favorite things were the salt sauna - you rub salt everywhere to exfoliate and the saunas when women poured oils onto the hot coals then waft hot lavender and tangerine smelling air at you! Quite unlike anything I've felt and smelt before!

After cleansing ourselves for about 4 hours, it was time for sushi with Holly's Philipino friends. I felt a bit silly for not eating sushi until my last night! The restaurant had the classic conveyer belt full of food, but with a few more different dishes than I've seen before. I don't think the sushi we have at home is that far off the real thing. From the pictures you can see I may have eaten a few too many plates...

Not to
Playing Mario KartPlaying Mario KartPlaying Mario Kart

The Japanese take such bad photographs!
worry though, as straight after we went for an even more Japanese activity and workout - Kareoke!

But not as we know it... In Japan you hire out a small booth, fully equiped with a kareoke machine, seats, tables and drinks delivered to the room! Wow. I gave a wonderful rendition of "Mamma Mia" and Lily Allen's "Smile," among others. Just great.

It was then time to go back to Holly's to pack in order to get my flight the following morning to Bangkok.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



17th February 2009

sushi
Tell me you didn't eat all that sushi!? looks like i've got competition!
18th February 2009

Sushi
Oh yes I did :-)

Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb