The Tennoji gardens


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka » Osaka
December 18th 2008
Published: December 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Osaka Wed evening and spent the night in the city. In a hotel of course but only just.. my reservation fell through over the net after it had already been confirmed. And somehow I gouged the magnetic strip on my debit card rendering it useless. And it may have also slipped my mind to convert some Aussie dollars to yen at the airport..😊

That's ok thou, see all this hasn't happend yet because of course I was still dealing with fact that I was slightly lost.
I later reflected on how funny it was that sometimes being lost is really a lot better than finding your way😊 you just don't know it at the time.

Well I eventually did find my way with the help of an Aussie girl and her Japanese friend.
Apparently spinning a map multiple times while scratching your head on a street corner is a clear sign your lost. After they regained their composure at the sight of my awkwardness they were kind enough to walk with me till I found my hotel.
I was fortunate enough to have been sparred them crowning me the country's most ill prepared traveler when we parted ways at the lobby and I continued on to the front desk. The game of charades that ensued from here with the front desk was comical regardless of the situation I found myself in.
I'm certain they gave me a room for the night purely to stop me from doing anymore ridiculous hand gestures in attempt to plead my case.
Thankfully I found a citibank the following morning before checkout that took my Australian atm card and I was in the clear.

I picked up my bags and headed to another part of town called Shin Osaka.
I had read the night before that there was cheap accommodation in Shin Osaka and a sign out on a wall in the street said the museum was there and having a large exhibition.
Settled! I was off. I found my train and my hostel in turn I quickly checked in, dropped my bags and
just as quickly as I had arrived I was out the door again, 20 kilos lighter and ready to be submerged in a
another world. I found the museum easy enough and was thrilled to find out that built around it was a zoo! I find solace in monkeys and sat out front watching them with my lunch until they started flinging poo at me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0937s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb