Christmas, Japan, German fair, party, Philippine holiday, rant……


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka » Osaka
December 11th 2007
Published: December 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The lights and sounds are unmistakably Christmas. Christmas concert at the mall, ornaments, lights, -- everywhere you look reminds you that Christmas is coming. However, I feel like Japan celebrates Christmas devoid of emotion, spirituality and definitely none of the warm and fuzzy feel of the season. Christmas is already in the air in most countries around the world; in Japan Christmas is a mere visual experience, which is not bad at all. Considering Japan is not a Christian nation, I’ll still give them an A+ for beautifying or trying to light up the occasion.

Most importantly, the occasion is a good excuse for Japanese and foreigners like me to party and drink ---- alcohol, being the most universal symbol of Christmas, hehehehe? A good place to drink at this particular season is the outdoor German Christmas fair at the Umeda Sky Tower. What can be more relaxing than a hot wine served in a very chilly weather? I went with a couple of my public school colleagues to this fair. The Germans made a good effort in bringing the Christmas spirit to Osaka, with all the trimmings, a big Christmas tree, Nativity scene, booths that sell Christmas ornaments, food and of course German beer and wine. But of course a good old fashion’ intimate party is the best way and cheaper way to consume as much alcohol and food as you like. The private school I am working for had a potluck Christmas party, and we got stuffed big time! Food was great and drinks were in abundance. Kampai! to all my lovely students and colleagues!!!

This will be my last blog for the year. Our whole family will be going to the Philippines for the holidays by next week. Yup, that country with all its endless problems, name it, we got it; corruption, poverty, crimes, terrorism, pollution, traffic, military uprisings, whew! and a lot more. I just wish people in power, though they are mostly dirty animals in disguise, will learn even the littlest sense of humanity and get our country back on its feet! It saddens me that our country’s potential, for the longest time, is being hindered by selfish and corrupt governance. My apologies to the animal kingdom, for most Filipino politicians are worst than animals. Sorry bout the rant folks!!!

Anyway let me go back to the subject matter. I tell you though, the Philippines celebrates Christmas with all the right reasons and the right attitude. I spent Christmas for the past five years in New York City; with Rinka in the last two Christmas. I am so happy to be going back home, although this is the worst and the most expensive time to travel to Manila. Culture note: Most Filipinos living and working abroad go home for Christmas to be with their families. It’s like a mass exodus to go back home. I heard a lot of Manila horror airport stories in this time of the year (hopefully we wouldn’t experience anything of that sort; even it would have meant a juicy blog entry). But nothing can contain my excitement. I am so excited to attend Misa de Gallo (midnight mass), listen to carolers in front of our house, watch the beautiful and colorful parols (Philippine star lanterns), eat puto bumbong (Christmas rice delicacy) and share endless stories on seemingly endless, but very cheerful gatherings by family and friends. Nothing comes close to Christmas in the Philippines! It’s also our first Christmas with our son, so there’s gonna be an extra serving of touchy feel, coziness and cheesiness…. yikes! I will
hot wine anyone?hot wine anyone?hot wine anyone?

w sensei Rie and Okimura san, Yumoto sensei is the one taking the pic.
blog about our Philippine trip as soon as we get back to Japan next year. Till then!!!

Merry Christmas!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

more of my smart studentsmore of my smart students
more of my smart students

Chloe with my students Ta-ko, Rika, Misao, Sujin
corny pose corny pose
corny pose

doing a corny pose with Ben and our students Rika and Misao


12th March 2008

As i saw ur pictures..i've seen the happiness and how adventurous u are..i hope both of u will be happy and will love each other forever..take care and be safe always.luv u both!!

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb