Frisbee and Nabe


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka » Hirakata
February 10th 2006
Published: April 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!

Classes are still going well, they're very easy though. Most classes have maybe one big paper or project due (for the afternoon classes at least) and thats it so considering how fast I throw those out at MC I'm not too worried. My language classes are also going well, moving along pretty quickly although I wouldn't mind going a little faster. I can introduce myself, order food, and ask about specific things now so I'm not too far off from picking up cute Japanese girls with my gaijin japanese.



I guess I have a few fun stories since last I've written so we'll start with the nice stuff. A week ago I was heading home and ran into a group of Japanese kids playing ultimate frisbee. How could I walk past? I introduced myself and ended up playing with them for an hour or two, it was a lotta fun and I have a good group picture (although not many pictures of actual playing because i didnt wanna miss any of it) Then that night we went to Osaka with a bunch of KGU people and went to a club called pure. 2500yen all you can drink and I think I was dancing until about five in the morning.. good times, I slept all day Saturday.



And most recently on Wednesday night (after getting all my homework done in advance.. of course 😉 I went my friend Naho's friend Ryu's apartment (along with other friends Zach and Jonna) for some Japanese style nabe and drinking. My horrible description of nabe goes something like this (and I know I don't describe things well so I'm sorry, theres a picture and you can look carefully) a pot in the middle of the table where we all sit around and theres a broth and we throw stuff in there like japanese cabbage, chicken, pork, noodles, and let it cook and then pull it out with our chopsticks into our own bowls and eat and refill the pot with more food when its running low. so maybe that gives you an idea of what im talking about.. if not look it up online im sure you can find it. Anyway the night concluded with (again) dancing (including lap dances, dear god) and general strangeness but we all had a great time. And I still made it to class the next day.. on time. Here's some ictures.




Sayoonara!



Brian


Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb