Home Stay Family


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka » Hirakata
January 30th 2006
Published: January 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ohayoo!! Yesterday, I met my homestay family and parted with mom and Jason... I guess my first impression of my host parents was that they're a little... eccentric - in a good way. No, they're not crazy, they're just really laid back, lax and a little modern... Surprisingly I have no curfew, I am essentially free to do anything I want, except dinner is always at 8, and the only drawback is that I have to pay for my own laundry. My room is good sized, not too small, but definitely not more space than I need. I unpacked and everything fit perfectly - I even have some room to spare!! The house is not a traditional Japanese house. I haven't seen tatami yet. My bed is western, an actual bed, not a futon. I have my own little oil heater, electric blanket, desk, chair, dresser, mirror and toilet. My toilet is for "me and my friends only". Interesting that they're so open to having people over.

My okaasan (mother) is very sweet and very hospitable. Last night we had spaghetti for dinner. My otoosan (father) is humorous and loves music! He even played me some C&K last night - I started cracking up because it was like, "the best of" cd. I have not met my oneesan (older sister) because she was working. And my oniisan likes old music - blues, old rock, etc... Both males in my family smoke - but okaasan and oneesan hate it so they have to smoke by the vent in the kitchen. *Sigh* You guys should have seen me when I first met my host parents. I was a nervous wreck. When I passed by a mirror, my cheeks were redder than I've ever seen because I was just so flustered at the situation! It was sooo new to me. I'm glad mom was there - she made me a little more comfortable. But leaving her was harder. It's always hard to say good bye, even if it's only for 4 months. I'm just silly I guess.

It feels like it's getting colder here... well, this morning it rained and I got a bus and train pass... Hopefully I don't get lost going back home after classes today. Oh yeah, I start class today. Entrepreneurship and International Finance. Should be fun. Also, surprisingly, I got into a relatively high level Japanese speaking class, but a lower reading and writing class... so we'll see how that works out. I haven't taken many new pictures but I'll post them up next time. Sorry!!!! Take care everyone and have a wonderful week.

Advertisement



30th January 2006

wow! ^^ it sounds like u're going to get along great with your host family! ^^
30th January 2006

Host Family
wow.. sounds like you have a great host family... haha.. dawn has a baby in her family that is 6th months... and as for me.. i find out prolly tomorrow because that's when my packet should come (hopefully)... but i think that all of our families will work out. In the meantime, can't wait to see your pictures and have fun with your new family!!!

Tot: 0.307s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb