Smooth Sailing


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okayama
November 7th 2006
Published: November 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

For the past five years of my life I've spent a lot of time on buses, trains, planes and cars. I think I've come of the opinion that in terms of being a passenger trains are by far the best. On trains I can sit and stare at the scenery, eat whatever I please, sleep in peace and comfort when i want to and not get sick. Cars, buses and trains are by far best for scenery - and as anyone knows who has been on a plane with me before, I spend mot of the time sleeping anyways. Cars can get crammed and boring - constantly surrounded by the same people. Granted buses and traisn can also be a pain in the neck if you have no seat for hours on end but in a bus or car even if you are seated and it's not crammed you may not be able to read or write for fear of getting sick (and may get sick anyway due to so many bumps and curves). But trains are generally "smooth sailing" so to speak and therefore allow you to do whatever you please without needing the extra plastic bag for "just in case."

Japan has some of the world's best scenery that makes me glad to have the time to relax and see it these past two days on local trains we go through parts of the country that may never have been set foot in by foreigners before.

Japan is also one of the world's best at space saving - from its roads to parking to building and the way of living. I think one could easily have a one room house that could be turned from kitchen to living room to dining room to office to bedroom very easily based on the futon beds, how set tables that one sits Indian style around and other such stuff.

This morning I went to a Japanese garden. No, wait. Not just any Japanese garden - if you can even say that at all. There's no such thing as "just any Japanese garden". Japanese gardens are definitely the best in the world. And today I went to Japan's 3rd fines garden - definitely a sight to see. Bridges, hills, water, rocks, plants, trees and small buildings - everything one thinks about Japanese gardens were here. It was truly stunning. I think I must let the pictures do the talking here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1104s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb