tired... want sleep...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Nagasaki » Nagasaki
May 28th 2006
Published: May 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

shrineshrineshrine

some shrine. don't remember the name.
We got back from Nagasaki today. It was a pretty cool city although I used the little free time I had there to catch up on sleep. On the way there, we stopped off at a shrine (Shinto), a castle, and a dutch museum. As it turns out, Nagasaki was the only city in which they allowed trade (only from the dutch) during their isolationist period. Very interesting.

That night, we went to a Chinese restraint (there is a big Chinese influence in Nakasaki due its proximity to China and it being a major port city) which was the best food I had eaten in Japan until supper tonight. I even had a bit of Sake (the actual way to pronounce saki). Afterwards, I returned to our hotel, took a shower, and went directly to sleep. Even managed 11 hours that night. In the morning, we boarded a bus, saw temple (Buddhist), the peace park, the a-bomb museum, and finally a small museum about Nagasaki.

The A-bomb museum was very moving. They gave a history leading up to the war, of the war itself, and the dropping of the second bomb in Nagasaki. They showed many horrendous pictures concerning
confucious templeconfucious templeconfucious temple

i dont remember the name of this temple either
the effects of the bomb. These ranged from the physical destruction of the city, burned clothes, burned bodies (both alive and dead), and the like. They gave a lot of information about radiation sickness, related cancers, and more. It was really the pictures that were the most disturbing. One picture, I assume very famous because they showed it many times, showed a burned infant sucking on a breast of an equally burned mother. The description beneath it said that the child didn’t have the strength to feed, and it died 10 days later. Also, at the very end, there were written testimonials of various survivors. These may have been more moving than the pictures themselves.
I’m honestly not sure how I feel about the first bomb, but the second bomb on Nagasaki was completely unnecessary. An interesting thing the museum mentioned was that the Americans claimed they dropped leaflets, warning of the bombing, over Nagasaki before the bombing although the Japanese claim the Americans dropped them afterwards.

When we got back, we went to this Yaki (grill,grilling) soba (buckwheat noodle) shop. It was amazing. Three of us shared our food with each other. My food was a mix between
outside a-bomb museum in nagasakioutside a-bomb museum in nagasakioutside a-bomb museum in nagasaki

andy staring off at the country side
an omelet and pancakes, mixed with some type of green onion, cabbage, ginger, etc, which I cooked myself on a grill centered on the center of the table. Very good. One of girls I was eating with had a grilled soba with some crazy sauce and vegetables. Also very good. Definitely the best meal I’ve had here as of yet. Hopefully more to come.

After the meal, I’ve been studying straight for this midterm tomorrow. I’m going to sleep soon and will wake up around 5 to continue studying. I don’t think it will be too bad, but I’m still pretty scared.

Here are some pictures from the weekend.


Advertisement



28th May 2006

Nagasaki
Pearl Harbor wasn't necessary either, but the Japanese did it. Had they surrendered after Hiroshima, Nagasaki would not have happened. Plus, by doing that, we saved hundreds of thousands of american lives because we would have had to invade Japan in order to complete victory for the USA. The past hurts sometimes, but it is necessary. I suggest going to the WWII museum in New Orleans. That is an eye opening experience as well. Keep the blogs coming. It's been great and I almost feel like I am there with you. See you when you come home.

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb