Experimental cooking night


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Nagano
September 12th 2011
Published: September 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Tonight I thought I'd try making tempera vegetables from scratch, in my bid to try and cook more Japanese food. I spent about an hour in the local Acoop picking out a varied selection of sauces and seasonings (many of which I have no idea what they are or what they are made of, including the intriguingly named "Magic Salt" that claims to turn your food into a michelin star restaurant experience).

The batter was easy enough to make - you only need to add water to the tempera mix, then fry the vegetables (I used beetroot, sweet potato, onion, cabbage, okra and squash) for two minutes - and hey presto! Delicious. Can't say the magic salt was the culinary orgasm it promised to be, but the yaki-nicu sauce was pretty good.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



13th September 2011

Hi Vic Just caught up with your blogs, sounds like you're having a fun time although the story about the mukade quite put me off my lunch that I was eating at the time. Keep the stories coming

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0797s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb