Jugglers and gingerbread houses


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Nagano
August 10th 2011
Published: August 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I had such an enjoyable day today. There was a little festival being held at the local library and museum, so my supervisor took me there in the morning so I could help out. They had set up lots of games, quizzes, treasure hunts and arts and crafts for the kids to do (it is still the summer holidays for another week). I helped out on a little arts stall making craft cookies and sweets to stick on a little model of the gingerbread house from Hansel and Gretel. The kids were so cute, mainly quite young ones.

For lunch I got my first taste of tacoyaki - who knew quite how delicious fried octopus balls were! I think it is a festival speciality from Osaka.

In the afternoon they had a children's entertainer who did a skit with balloons, juggling, yoyos and balancing acts. All good fun.

The only downer is it is incredibly hot at the moment. I think today must have been hitting the 30s, as it felt like the hottest day so far. Everywhere you go, the main small talk is "Atsui desu nai?" - Hot isn't it?! I've almost given up wearing makeup during the day as it wipes off within minutes. I'm not sure how they do it but the Japanese people don't seem to sweat as much as us foreigners! I'm a puddle of sweat within minutes of stepping outside. I've taken to the Japanese style of carrying a little sweat cloth with me to try and mop up, but it doesn't make much difference. I suspect I'll be wishing for this weather again though once the really cold months set in....

The sunsets over the mountains, are, it has to be said, quite breathtaking at the moment. Oh and I found several little frogs hopping around my doorstep yesterday evening!!

Hmm...I like having a home phone here, but have just had several prank calls. I got excited when the phone rang the first time, but the person on the other end doesn't answer. I think it is kids because I can hear some giggling on a few of the calls. Hope it doesn't go on all night!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0694s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb