Matsumoto-oooooh


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Nagano
September 22nd 2008
Published: September 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Japanese Game Show 30 secs
Matsumoto-jo at nightMatsumoto-jo at nightMatsumoto-jo at night

View of the main tower of the castle at night, was quite breathtaking.
FIIIIIIIINALLY could upload this entry... flakey internet up here. Also got a video in this post of one of those whacking Japanese Game shows too....
======
The minute you step off the train and hear the loud speakers exclaim "welcome to Ma-tsumo-tooooooh" you know your in for something a bit different. The ride up here is through some gorgeous mountainous terrain and takes you through Nagano, where they held the Olympics some years back. The city itself is a good mix of Cosmopolitan city life with even a Starbucks, and traditional Japanese architecture. The city's main attraction is Matsumoto-jo, one of Japan's four top castles.

I got a lift to the Ryokan from the owner, which was nice since the Ryokan itself is a fair ways away from the train station. First time in a Japanese vehicle too. Very nice place, although the wireless internet is spotty at best and the public computer is amazingly filthy and old (haven't seen Windows Me in awhile...) Tonight I went for a walk around the town and got some pictures of the castle. I'll be doing the tour tomorrow. When I was in Japan two years ago I went to Himeji, considered the
Bento Lunch 1Bento Lunch 1Bento Lunch 1

Best way to eat if you don't have time before catching the train.
top castle in all of Japan. However the castle here I think beats it hands down for a picturesque setting. It's surrounded by a moat with carp and even a swan, with a beautiful red bridge connecting it. I wish my photography skills were better to show off how impressive the castle looks at night, took my breath away. If the internet is solid enough I'll try and upload the pictures to it tonight.

LOTS of Gaijin here.. I probably saw about 40 including on the train ride over, more then I even saw in Tokyo. Surprising but nice change. Overall I'm very happy with Matsumoto. I was thinking on the way up I probably should only have booked one night, but now I'm wishing I had booked longer, I could get used to this, although my next stop Nara, the first capital of Japan, I'm sure will be even more impressive.

Well that's it for now... I'm enjoying a completely crazy Japanese game show on TV, listening to some music I brought, and a Japanese beer in hand. Things are looking up!



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Bento Lunch 2Bento Lunch 2
Bento Lunch 2

Sadly the wood side is only Styrofoam, not real wood.
Almost all identifiableAlmost all identifiable
Almost all identifiable

What doesn't kill you makes you stronger right?
Hachinohe Train stationHachinohe Train station
Hachinohe Train station

View down the train station between stops.
Morioka StationMorioka Station
Morioka Station

View from my hotel room.
The MAX ShinkansenThe MAX Shinkansen
The MAX Shinkansen

New model I think.
Big BoyBig Boy
Big Boy

A Big Boy Restaurant... I thought these were long dead??
HayateHayate
Hayate

This is a view of the Hayate train, the most common Shinkansen type.
Track side TempleTrack side Temple
Track side Temple

A temple on the side of the tracks
Mountain townMountain town
Mountain town

Taken on the train ride up to Matsumoto
Tall bridgeTall bridge
Tall bridge

This bridge is taller then it looks and goes over top some farmer fields.
Japanese AvenueJapanese Avenue
Japanese Avenue

Looking down one of the more traditionally styled streets in Matsumoto.
Crazy ArchitectureCrazy Architecture
Crazy Architecture

Some artsy weird building here.
Japanese BuildingsJapanese Buildings
Japanese Buildings

View of some picturesque Japanese buildings along a canal at night..
Cat on a rock.Cat on a rock.
Cat on a rock.

This cat seemed very intense.
Frogs...Frogs...
Frogs...

These frogs are ready to rumble if you look at em the wrong way.


23rd September 2008

Matsumotooooooo
Hey there, Thanks for the food pics. Makes me want to eat sushi. Well, if I wanted to eat, I would want to eat sushi. Can't find pickled ginger here to save my life. The castle is indeed impressive, but I think the cat has a certain majesty all its own, eh?

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb