My new obsession


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Nagano
March 18th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

As I mentioned in my last blog, I've recently gotten into snowboarding. I've been three times this season, and as luck would have it, have managed to organize a fourth! That's right- we've had a bit of a cold spell recently and I'm making the most of it. My friend Matt and I will be heading to Hakuba on Tuesday for three more days of pure bliss.
This Wednesday is a national holiday, and seeing as how I have Friday off and an early Tuesday, I decided to take a day off work to go exploring some part of Japan. For the last few weeks I've looked into everywhere from Hokkaido to Okinawa, but when a friend came back last weekend from a snowboarding trip to Gifu (with a great snow report), I made up my mind. I'm not usually a spur-of-the-moment kind of girl- I tend to over-analyze every decision, but the next morning I was sitting across from the loveliest travel agent, discussing snow depths and number of courses. I was originally thinking of going to Gifu but she talked me into heading back to Nagano, this time to an area called Hakuba.
I couldn't find anyone to join
The Blue Lake Hotel and ResortThe Blue Lake Hotel and ResortThe Blue Lake Hotel and Resort

I highly recommend this place!
me, for one reason or another, but finally managed to talk my friend Matt into it. Well, actually it didn't take any convincing- he's a snowboarding nut too and jumped at the chance! Plus it also helps that his days off are Thursday and Friday, so he already had the time off.

So for about USD$250, we get transportation to and from Hakuba, accommodation at a resort only three minutes walking from the lifts, lift passes to three different mountains, food, and gear rental! It's so weird, considering how expensive some things are in this country.

I'll post again after I get back with pictures and details.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

I miss treesI miss trees
I miss trees

It's nice to get out of the concrete jungle once in a while.
The view from our roomThe view from our room
The view from our room

They weren't kidding when they said the lifts were only a short walk away!
Our fabulous dinnerOur fabulous dinner
Our fabulous dinner

We had steak the second night!
Kid in a candy storeKid in a candy store
Kid in a candy store

Thanks to Matto, I had an Oasis song stuck in my head for about 6 days.
Blue LakeBlue Lake
Blue Lake

Creative naming scheme, huh?
Oh so prettyOh so pretty
Oh so pretty

Another shot of Blue Lake
Bee LarvaBee Larva
Bee Larva

One of my students told me about this, and I couldn't believe we found it. Apparently in Nagano, grasshoppers and bee larva are considered delicacies. Yum!
Arg!Arg!
Arg!

;) hehe
Wet spotWet spot
Wet spot

Matt tried to look cool, but was betrayed by his butt.
Child in reposeChild in repose
Child in repose

That can't be comfortable..
I still giggle when I see snowI still giggle when I see snow
I still giggle when I see snow

I guess that's what happens when you grow up in Texas.


13th April 2007

I miss you!!
Hey you, Looks like your having a great time. I miss you tons!! ok well I thought I was gonna have more to say in this comment but my eyes are heavy and I'm terribly exhausted. I think I am wearing myself out with everything I'm trying to do. Its only 10:15 pm and I wanna go to bed. Its sad. Travis is gonna come stay with me in my apt for the summer thats something new. ok I hope to talk to you later or soon anyway. Take care and cant wait to see you when you come home. LOVE YOU Your baby, Megan
13th April 2007

Jealous, jealous, jealous, jealous! Did I mention that I'm jealous? Anywho, for a summer addiction, let me know if you get into snorkeling. My dad used to go out by Okinawa in high school when his Dad was stationed there. I hear its gorgeous. Keep having fun! P.S. - the Crunky bar was pretty damn good!
16th April 2007

Looks Awesome!
Your gear couldn't have been better!!! Fresh snow is the best! Looks like y'all had an awesome time. To me it was always amazing sitting outside in a hot springs or hot tub while it's snowing :-) Miss you!!!

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 19; qc: 90; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb