Fuji-Kyu Highland Amusement Park


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Mt Fuji
June 1st 2006
Published: July 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

In early June, Larry and I decided to head to Fuji-Kyu Highland Amusement Park. Some of our friends had recently gone there and we heard from them that it was a lot of fun... Not to mention, because of its location near Mt. Fuji, we also enjoyed beautiful scenic views while we were there.

We finally arrived at Fuji-Kyu after a 2 hour bus ride from Shinjuku, and immediately wasted no time hitting up ALL the rides: the "free fall" rides, the roller coasters, even the kiddy rides and the scary, haunted rides....well, almost the scary, haunted rides. At one point we came to some sort of scary cave, and I immediately made the decision to wait outside while Larry checked it out. Being hard to completely make out what was inside of it since most of its description was in Japanese, I knew it was nothing I wanted to do after reading "experience what it's like to be buried alive"! Um...no thank you. I think I'll pass.

But a few minutes later, Larry poked his head out from the entrance of the cave (he had been waiting in line for a little while), convincing me that he didn't think it would be as scary as we originally thought. He said people were being let into the cave in quite large groups, and that with that many people going in at once, there is no way each person would be put into their own, individual coffin. So, stupidly I agreed to go with him. It wasn't until about 5 minutes later, when we were led into a large, underground room with about 50 or so standing-coffins in it, that I realized my mistake and freaked out. Through tears I did my best to communicate to the cult-looking people in full, hooded robes that I needed to leave immediately, or I might have a heart attack soon. Luckily, I think my tears did most of the talking for me, and I was led to an exit. Whew!! I know, I know...I'm a wimp....but when was the last time any of you got inside a coffin?!!?

At the end of the day, we hopped back on the bus that would drop us back off at Shinjuku. But before heading home from Shinjuku, we stopped at a little Spanish restaurant called ESPANA for dinner. Here we had a delicious dinner, even though we think we ordered the wrong thing...literally, we think EVERYONE in the entire restaurant had this scrumptious-looking, seafood cous-cous platter...we got some chicken dish with a brown gravy that resembled poop. Oh well, what can you do?

All in all, a memorable time!


Love,
Larry & Melanie

JAPANESE FOR THE DAY: "Kata no chikara o nuite yaro yo." - "It helps to have a sense of humor."



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb