Mt. Fuji---Atsugi Naval Airbase


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Mt Fuji
February 5th 2010
Published: February 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

For those of you who have visited Mt. Fuji, that mountain was the first thing I saw each morning out my window when I was stationed at the bottom of the mountain at the Atsugi Naval Airbase. I was in Mag-11, VMJ-1 which was a U.S.Marine aerial photo reconnaissance squadron. I don't have many photos from the area but I did find two photos of our base movie theater and one of our planes. I returned to Japan last week and couldn't even find the town outside the base.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Movie Theater AtsugiMovie Theater Atsugi
Movie Theater Atsugi

This was the movie theater at Atsugi for the Marines in 1955
One of the Banshee jetsOne of the Banshee jets
One of the Banshee jets

This was a photo plane in squadron VMJ-1
Mag-11 ChampsMag-11 Champs
Mag-11 Champs

1955 and VJM-1 had an undefeated basketball team at Atsugi. That's me--number 7 in the photo
Yamata JapanYamata Japan
Yamata Japan

This was Yamata Japan just outside the back gate at the Atsugi Naval Airbase at Atsugi in 1955
My Model AMy Model A
My Model A

I had the only car in the squadron, a 1930 Model A. Only one paved road from Yokohama to Tokyo. Was painted the same blue as our jet planes. Wonder where that paint came from?


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 70; dbt: 0.089s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb