Medical Checkup Day


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Miyagi » Sendai
October 25th 2007
Published: October 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, today was the oh so awesome medical checkup. Rumi, my manager made sure to let me know, "don't be late da yo" and co and I found ourselves up @ 7am and walking to meet at Fuji Saki @ 8am this morning. The medical facility was right across the street from the arcade and on the 4th floor of an office building. Rumi, Kerin, Ryoko, Koji and I all got our lockers and changed into the shirt they gave us and went to take our urine sample. I made sure i got a bottle of water so I would actually have to go; which worked like a charm.

After the sample we all sat around the waiting room, men and women, and waited for our chest x-rays. Yes, it is 100% normal to get a chest x-ray here. The women who called me didn't speak a lot of English and when are you really taught, "now hold your breath" in Japanese anyway? After my x-rays, which I hope came out, we had weight, height, blood pressure, eye exam, and waist measured. I never really thought that the eye exam would be different here but, obviously, it is. They call it a "c test" and its the letter c backwards, forewards, and turned on its side. I was so not prepared and I had to look down constantly to make sure I was putting in the right answer. I could see it just fine, 1.5 in each eye, but I know I answered a couple wrong because I have no idea what I put in as the answer. After eyes it was blood pressure and then weight and height. They have this very high tech weight and height scale. All you do is stand in the spot and it does everything for you. The height stick comes down, touches you head and then run right back up. The women who was administering this part of the exam was very sweet and giggly, so when she motioned for me to left my shirt up T did it all the way and then got laughed at when she said, "no no no, only waist".

After that had the hearing exam which was normal. go in a sound proof room, put on headphones, and then press the button when you hear the beep. so I did...but I wasn't sure if I should wait till the noise stops or press it when I hear it...so I just pressed it a bunch until it changed. Took my chart back to the center lady and waited for the last part, where the doctor listens to your breath and heart. T go in second and she listens to my chest, looks at my chart and then tells me, in Japanese, "Your waist size is very big so you need to exercise". Just bam in the face. Then Kerin, who goes running almost every morning, got told the same thing. After we looked at our information saw how much they said we were suppose to weight and figured out Japanese standards are ridiculous! Kerin and I would be bulimic if we got to that weight. We haven't been that weight since middle school! After that we were done and where do we head for breakfast? Oh yeah man, McDonalds it was.

Advertisement



25th October 2007

famous!
That is absolutely famous Lebda! I love it! Ahh.. the working world... and McDonald's .. just to rub it in their faces. does that mean that when Japanese people come to america they are blulemic if you are obese in japan?? just food for thought..
26th October 2007

Too, too much
Oh Kathryn - this is indeed priceless. You have made ALL of us at school laugh today. I can hardly wait for the next story. You are doing a great job with this - keep up the good work! Love you (muchly) LebdaWhen

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb