#3-My Photo of Kyoto


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
July 23rd 2010
Published: July 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Gion teahouse StreetGion teahouse StreetGion teahouse Street

The picture DOES NOT even do this street justice
7/22 to 7/25

Kyoto

In Kyoto, culture dwells in the nooks of the cobblestone alleys and seaps from the wood slats of the teahouses in Gion. The sliding of each paper door is like her whisper and the accompanying scent of incense, her breath. She is elusive like the Geisha, yet her heart beats everywhere. This place is ancient and magical. I can't seem to capture her beauty with a camera lens.

Kyoto was one of the few cities in Japan untouched by World War II; therefore much of the culture and originality remains. We have been exploring Kyoto by taking busses or subways to the older areas (Higashiyama/Gion), and then venturing out on foot. These neighborhoods make me feel like I am tucked in the pages of the book, Memoirs of a Geisha. My favorite areas are lined with 17th century restaurants and teahouses made of Japanese cypress and red cedar.

We accidently stumbled upon one group of teahouses built alongside a brook of sorts, each connected to the road by a fairy-tale-like bridge. Although cherry trees camouflage the teahouses from the roadside, I could still see geisha entertaining their businessmen clients. It was exciting to
Ninen-ZakaNinen-ZakaNinen-Zaka

Southern Higashiyama walking tour
see such an ancient tradition.

A highlight of Kyoto was a half-day walking tour mapped out in my Lonely Planet travel book. We walked through charming streets lined with old wooden houses, traditional shops and restaurants.

The best part of the tour was the Kiyomizu-dera, a temple built in 1633. I have been to many temples in Asia, but this one had some really unique features: sweeping views, magic water, and a walk-through womb (that is not a type-o...it really says womb).

As for the views, the temple area has many immense halls and shrines, all made of wood and ornately decorated in reds, blacks and grays. Each building is surrounded by lush, green foliage and carved stones. The backdrop of the Kyoto skyline is also a beautiful sight to behold.

Near one of the halls, the Otowa-no-taki waterfall is said to have sacred waters with therapeutic properties. Visitors reach out to capture the water by holding long, metal poles with cups attached.  I was not prepared for the force of the stream of water, nor the gasps of horror from onlookers as my cup shot out from my stick into the pool below. I hope this doesn't produce opposite results!

Good thing for me I wished for the strength and health to complete this trip while inside the womb of a female bodhisattva (symbolically, at least). This walk-through womb was really, really, really dark--Pitch dark. I held onto a rope as I took baby steps through the length of the cavern. At the end of the darkness was a dimly lit rock, which I spun to make my wish. This was my second time in a womb, and I'm sure it was much cooler and roomier than the first time around.


Nara

On Billy's final full day in Japan, we took a day trip to Nara, the first permanent capitol of Japan (646 a.d.) The historyof the city, however, dates back before Christ. Therefore, Nara is a repository of Japan's cultural legacy and heritage; much of which is in an area called Nara-Koen. I was just happy to find fruit stands! I bought a three-dollar tomato, a four-dollar peach and some blueberries--The best breakfast so far!

But the best surprise of the trip was at a park outside the Kofuku-Ji Temple and neighboring museum. Turns out, deer roam freely around this area and are a tourist attraction
The Deer in  NaraThe Deer in  NaraThe Deer in Nara

Chasing me for food. Cute until they catch you and start biting your butt.
of their own, with vendors selling crackers as deer food.

Sweet little deer...
Looking all Bambi-like...
Just waiting to be pet.

Clever animals too...

Watching patiently as I purchased a bundle of crackers.
But the moment I stepped away from the cracker cart--before I could even unwrap the cracker bundle--the deer tribe surrounded me!

One tore apart my bag of fruit and nearly nabbed my peach, while another tried to chew my travel book. Two larger deer went for the crackers in my other hand while the biggest deer of all butted me with his antlers and bit my butt.

These deer weren't so cute anymore!

I ran from them, but they chased me, nipping at me until I threw the crackers on the ground. I was able to escape when another tourist approached with his soon-to-be-devoured cracker bundle.

It was fun to sit under a tree and watch the deer assault unsuspecting tourists.

As for the best site in Nara, it was the Toda-Ji temple and the Daibutsu (Great Buddha). The Buddha is one of the largest bronze figures in the world (16+ meters), and is housed in the largest wooden building
Daibutsu-den HallDaibutsu-den HallDaibutsu-den Hall

the largest wooden building in the world
in the world (built in 1709). The area is one of eight in Nara designated by the United Nations as a world heritage site. We visited a few others, but the blistering, tiring heat and limited shade made the area difficult to view on a day-trip. I would like to visit Nara (and Kyoto, for that matter) in the fall or spring and spend more time comfortably enjoying it's wonders.

--


I am finishing this journal entry on a train bound for Hiroshima. Billy has gone home, and I am, for the first time in my life, traveling in a foreign country by myself! I am excited to go at my own pace, choose my own adventures and consider my own silence. I am also a bit nervous for the same reasons.

I feel the purpose of my journey is about to unfold.






Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Otowa-no-taki waterfulOtowa-no-taki waterful
Otowa-no-taki waterful

inside the Kiyomizu Dera temple complex... The waters are supposed to have therapeutic properties
the Great Buddhathe Great Buddha
the Great Buddha

One of the largest bronze statues in the world


25th July 2010

My favortie
This is my favorite entry so far! The deer story reminds me of the aggressive pigeons in Italy, I was laughing so hard while mentally picturing you running from the big bad deer! Enjoy your time alone, I'm sure you will find some very healing moments coming to you. Love you and be safe, Terrilynn
26th July 2010

Jason! Such an amazing trip of a lifetime. Thank you for sharing your journey, your words and descriptions are magical.
26th July 2010
the Great Buddha

Wow.......what a powerful imagine...I can only imagine being in front of it. Breathe it all in!
26th July 2010

Deer
The deer story almost made me pee my pants. That's the way I feel about squirrel (especially the ones at UCLA). I don't think we are supposed to feed wild animals. Your description of Kyoto is simply enchanting! It is now on my list.
31st July 2010

Im in awe of the giant Buddah. A little jealous of the deer. Muah!
1st August 2010

Your writing is so beautiful! So glad that you're having such a meaningful time!
9th August 2010

Thank you, Jason, for sharing your interesting travel writing and beautiful photos. Funny about the deer.

Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0769s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb