New Years Vacation Part 3


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto
January 7th 2008
Published: January 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday was spent in a bit of a slow approach. I met up with my friend Yuki for a couple hours for a little shopping, talking, and some lunch. It was so great to catch up with her and hear about her plans for the future. I wish her the best of luck at the Hilton in Nagoya!

After chatting with Yuki I headed into Kyoto for the afternoon and head out to a couple of the big temples/shrines that I had missed the first time that I was in Japan. My first stop was Fushimi-inari and it was full of people preforming hatsumo-de. I felt like a small sardine while I was walking around the main alters and prayer observation areas and was more than happy to play around in the lines of torii gates. Fushimi-inari was used in MOAG, in the early part of the movie where a young Sayuri is running through long red lines of torii gates. Once I got away from the main hatsumo-de seekers it was a nice and much more relaxing walk around the torii. It was still rather busy while I was there but it was the kind of busy that I
Fushimi-inariFushimi-inariFushimi-inari

hatsumo-de
don't really mind. It was obvious that money was being made but it was also really nice to see families out together for hatsumo-de or see some how were offering prayers. The long trails around the mountain twist and turn and finally come back to the main deck and hub of activity.

After leaving Fushimi-inari I headed out to Kinkaku-ji. Kinkaku-ji is the Golden Pavilion that is gold plated. It is a UNESCO World Heritage site and is very popular with tourists and also the mall group of hatsumo-de goers. I got to the station and decided that I would walk. In retrospect, I wish that I had just jumped on a bus because I might have made it to another temple before it got really dark and started to lightly rain. Kinkaku-ji is beautiful and well worth the hike that I took to get there. There is a really nice path way all around the pavilion and up into the temple area. Even if I was pretty crowded with people taking pictures. There are little areas where you can get matcha and snacks while your enjoying the peaceful atmosphere of the temple. Only ¥400 and it was great that I saw it toward the end of the day. It wasn't as crowded as it could have been.

Afterwards I ran back to the station, got some dinner and then headed back to Kuzuha and read for a while in Starbucks before meeting up with Chiaki and enjoying some of their awesome sushi. Her manager let me eat a bunch of sushi they had left over because it was just going to be thrown away otherwise! It deserved to be eaten!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Fushimi-inariFushimi-inari
Fushimi-inari

torii gates
Fushimi-inariFushimi-inari
Fushimi-inari

I am told that the frog; which is kaeru in Japanese; means that you will come back to Fushimi-inari. Kaeru also means 'to come back' in Japanese as well.
Fushimi-inariFushimi-inari
Fushimi-inari

so many people!
Kinkaku-jiKinkaku-ji
Kinkaku-ji

more hatsumo-de


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 10; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb