FruitsPunchoSamurai: The sights I


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto » Gion
September 13th 2011
Published: September 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Kinkaku-jiKinkaku-jiKinkaku-ji

The temple itself. It's shiny.
Well, today was exhausting but very rewarding. Guided by the strange, but wonderful, Mr. Zachary Priddy we made our way to Kinkaku-ji ("Temple of the Golden Pavilion"). It was an extraordinary sight, one of the most majestic of my life, yet it was a very calm place, despite all the other tourists. Pictures will be provided for those too lazy to search the internet for them. My eyes constantly found new things to photograph, making me feel like a real tourist but, since I was surrounded by them, this did not bother me as much as I would have thought.

After that we made our way to one of the shopping districts, again led by the fearless Priddy-sempai. His knowledge of the surroundings was only overshadowed by his complete disregard for the hunger of certain swedish people. After much walking we finally encountered a Soba restaurant which, according to myself, may just have been one of the greatest restaurants I have ever had the pleasure to visit. It wasn't particularly fancy, it merely had charisma, it had atmosphere but, most of all, it had Soba. Our polish companion, Andrzej (I think it's correctly spelled), tried to order something to drink and ended up with seaweed. This was the cause of much mockery and laughter among the rest of us. Apparently he had only managed to decipher the "sea"-part of the word and concluded that it must have something to do with water. After that he got what he thought was just soda but which apparently contained some amount of alcohol.

After a lot of wandering around and a visit to a huge arcade, we felt it was time to be getting back. Easier said than done. First we went down into the wrong subway station, then we took the wrong bus and finally hopped on the wrong train. But, since I am here writing it is safe to say that I survived with no physical scars.

Tomorrow is the start of the introduction at the university. I think it's going to feel good to get some sort of structure on everything, but right now I just wanna practice the art of doing nothing useful. May you slurp your noodles with extreme vigour!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The blessed Soba restaurantThe blessed Soba restaurant
The blessed Soba restaurant

Title is of my own making.
Sunset over KyotoSunset over Kyoto
Sunset over Kyoto

That's the Kyoto tower in the background.
Kyoto towerKyoto tower
Kyoto tower

and this is how it looks up close, from the Kyoto station.


Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb