I learnt something new today...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kochi
March 14th 2010
Published: March 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Caramel BarCaramel BarCaramel Bar

these were so yummy i made a new batch before the first was gone
The difference between a condo and an apartment: one's owned, the other's rented. Who'dathunk you'd need different words for that?

Sports Depo
Why is the shop called Sports Depo? Depo might be the Japanese version of the word, but if they were using Japanese versions, then surely the Sports bit would be Supotsu? And clearly Sports is an English word, so the Depo bit should be Depot. And yes, it’s a minor ting, but it just doesn’t make sense.

Mikawa, Ehime
I decided I wanted to go to Ehime for some boarding, because it hasn’t been snowing recently and Mikawa’s supposed to be better than Ikawa. So I dragged Alex with me on the 2-hour-but-seems-longer-because-it’s-mostly-normal-roads-as-opposed-to-expressway-like-ikawa drive and we spent a couple of hours there. It’s slightly more expensive than Ikawa at JPY 7,800 and the boots are better, but the boards were a bit crap. Alex’s one was too thin and he didn’t have good fun times on the slopes. Or maybe he was just getting tired at the end. The second chairlifts we went on were these scary single-seater ones that I nearly fell off before I got on. But I managed not to fall at the top
DinnerDinnerDinner

my first doria - it was surprisingly tasty
every time - score! I also perfected the 180. I wasn’t moving at the time, but I still did it… 😉

But then I accidentally left my gloves in the rental place. They matched my jacket and everything 😞 Luckily though my amazing supervisor called them for me on Monday and got them to post them to me for CoD. Yay for supervisor! :D

Yamada High School Brass Band Concert
One Friday afternoon 4 students came to my desk and asked me what I was doing on Valentine’s Day. Wary of what was to come next, I avoided answering by umming and aahing for a few seconds before they explained that the Yamada High School brass band was putting on a concert that day in Noichi. They gave me a free ticket, which was nice of them, so I felt obliged to go.

The students here have after-school and weekend club activities like brass band club. They do this nearly every single day, and the level of commitment is insane. Coming from London, it’s pretty shocking to see the amount of effort they put into it. I was in the wind band at school back home, and
Balcony TimeBalcony TimeBalcony Time

sun, sen-cha, sudoku - perfect afternoon!
we weren’t even able to perfect one piece, let alone put on a whole performance and charge the public for it. And why were we so rubbish? Purely because nobody gave a s***. We only had weekly practices instead of daily, the attendance was nowhere near perfect like here, and the attitude is completely different. I felt sorry for Mr. Costello, bless him for trying. You could see the frustration in his gestures, but it just couldn’t be done with our pathetic excuse for a wind band - it had a frickin’ RECORDER, something I hadn’t seen since the first year of primary school!

Japanese Cyclists
So the mentality of cyclists (and pedestrians) in Japan is as follows:
Feel free to do whatever the f*** you want, because if you get hit by a vehicle, it will be 100%!t(MISSING)heir fault so they’ll have to swerve to avoid you in every situation. Combined with the generally horrendous driving skills of the Japanese folk, I’m seriously shocked that I haven’t seen a load of bike/car pile ups. Having said that, we nearly hit a cyclist the other day when some kid just came out of a tiny road onto our road without looking. I mean - who does that??!?! It’s like they don’t care if they get hit. And plenty of times I’ve seen a cyclist go from the pavement onto the road to pass a pedestrian, without looking to see if there are any cars coming, causing the car to either brake hard or swerve to the other side of the road. Stupid people.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb