First Week of Camp= Done!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kanagawa
June 22nd 2015
Published: June 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hi there!

Trying this again, cause the first time I typed it all out everything got deleted so hopefully I don't forget anything! I made it through my first week of official camp with the kids! Can't believe it's only been two weeks, I feel like I've been here for so much longer. The first week with the kids was kind of hectic. Trying to learn everything about the center as well as merging our ways with the center staff has been a process, but starting this week I can tell things are already going smoother. I think as the summer progresses each week will get easier and easier. The kids are great! There are definitely some strong personalities, but they're so much fun and so adorable😊 The room gets kind of crazy since we have anywhere from 20-27 kids in there at a time. Luckily, we go on a "mini field trip" every day so the kids can get out of the center. Last week they had a K-9 presentation, went bowling, and went to the pool. Then there's one big field trip where we leave base and we went to the space museum in Yokohama. The kids had a great time and it took up the whole day so that was nice, we didn't have to program or think of activities for them to do. Today we went to a movie, Inside Out, and it was awesome. The kids payed attention the whole time and were quiet, I loved it! The movie was actually pretty good too😊 Too bad we can't go to the movies every day!

This past weekend I went to Tokyo which was awesome! We left Friday night and got to our hostel around 11. Saturday we woke up and went to Tokyo Tower which was cool. It's pretty much a smaller, red version of the Eiffel Tower. The tower itself wasn't that great, but it had an awesome view so that was cool! After that we went to the Sensoji Temple which is the oldest temple in Tokyo. It was so huge, at least 3x the size of the one I saw last weekend. There were a couple parks near there so we walked around those as well. Then there were a lot of little shops and markets so we walked around those a lot and saw all the stuff they had. Surprisingly I didn't buy anything at those! Then we went back to the area where we were staying, Shinjuku, and walked around the city there. We ate dinner there. Went to a Korean BBQ place which was alright, but I think I prefer the ramen😊 Sunday morning we woke up to the hostel staff knocking on our door saying it was time to check out- whoops. We were all pretty tired and some of us were getting sick so we decided to head back to base. It's about a 1.5 hr train ride, when I got back I went grocery shopping and just hung around the rest of the day and relaxed. Went to bed early so I was prepared for work today😊 That's about all I did! Next weekend we're going to the big Buddha in Kamakura. All the Camp people who are in Japan are meeting there and we're gonna take a group picture so that'll be fun! Don't have anything else planned yet for the weekend, but I'm sure I'll find something to do😊 I better get going! I'll post again after this weekend, bye!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb